We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It was convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn San Ysidro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn San Ysidro
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in San Ysidro
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room there last minute on a spur of the moment trip to San Diego from Phoenix. Most of the hotels where pricey for this week convention in town. At $80 and a Rodeway Inn I'm not expecting to receive Westin or W amenities. We had room 105 a/c was cold and room including bathroom was clean. The towels if you need more they want the ones you just used back first. The breakfast is laughable but again why expect more. The property IS close to the border like a street off, and a trolley that runs behind the property that the bells ring and may bother some. Couple blocks from the outlets and less the 10min from a Wal-Mart up the 805 if need be. Plenty places to eat and shop within walking distance. Imperial Beach Pier is 15 min away up interstate 5 and only 20 min from downtown. Never worried about our safety there, lots of familys I seen checking in and out. Just remember it's a Rodeway Inn

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank azbound50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bipin A, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, responded to this review, July 2, 2015
Thank you fro the feedback, we do have a good location for border visits and for great outlet shopping. Thanks again for your patronage and good luck in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    7
    8
    11
See reviews for
9
5
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

These people at the front desk are so phony. The room size was okay, bathroom lights where bright but, that is about it. Old 1980's TV set, noisy, paper thin walls, sheet feel like there made out of paper (stiff), all the towels had a yellow tint to them, and some very shady people coming in to this place all night. Not for anyone who want a safe night sleep. Back to the front desk people. We woke up the next day and need to go to Mexico. First we ask if we could leave the car in there lot, also we said we would be back by noon which they said it's no problem. When we got back the woman at the front desk asked if we where staying another night, we told her no. Then her whole face and attitude changed. She told me that next time it would cost me a nights stay because, the car was parked there. Okay I said and when on my way. Will a week later I see this charge on my account for 2 night stay. So she hit me with a extra $61.00 charge. The charges are now in dispute.

Room Tip: If you need to go across the border maybe stay in Chula Vista and pay for the 7 dollar parking behin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bipin A, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, responded to this review, July 2, 2015
We appreciate the feedback and have sent this onto management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Ysidro hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Scammed out of a $50 charge on my credit card, they claimed i took all the towels from the room. They probably had a value of five bucks total, and were stiff as if made from wool. If youre looking for a place to stay while attending an event at the amphitheatre beware of this place!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bipin A, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, responded to this review, July 2, 2015
Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The room was tiny. The AC didn't work -- it only blew hot air on a hot day, and even that failed to reach the bed. The refrigerator had not been cleaned and contained stuff from previous guests. The room appeared to have been renovated--the flat-screen TV was nice--but the AC was definitely from a different era. The trolley on the back side of the hotel made loud noises every time it approached or departed from the end of the trolley line--which was probably every ten to fifteen minutes. I was told no other rooms were available, even though many rooms seemed unoccupied in the front even late at night and the next morning. There was no iron or ironing board in the room, and the bath tub was springy. The big liquid soap dispenser above the tub made it look like it was a public bathroom. The location was quite central, at least for a busy border crossing. Lots of people were walking to or from the border crossing. A large outlet mall is nearby, on the U.S. side. The Internet worked just fine. The neighborhood seemed safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the mountain -- and tracks -- behind the hotel. Check if the AC works as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1001_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bipin A, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, responded to this review, July 2, 2015
Thank you for the feedback, we understand that everyone has a level of comfort and we are very sorry if we let you down. We wish you the best in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had to book a last minute trip to San Diego on a very busy end of week and weekend. All the big names places in San Diego were booked or way way too expensive. I took a chance with this place at around $99. I was very pleasantly surprised! My 4th floor room seemed to be recently upgraded, very clean (my greatest fear is a dirty gross place), had free wifi with a decent connection, flat panel TV, foam mattress, and to boot the place had a decent continental breakfast with cereal. The trolley stop was less than 2 blocks away and took me right to the convention center (I was told it also goes right to Petco Park, but there wasn't a game in town when I was there). Also, San Ysidro is right on the border and this place would definitely be a convenient place to stay if you were going across the border to Mexico. All things considered, for the price I give this place 2 thumbs up! =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValueShopper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bipin A, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, responded to this review, July 2, 2015
Thank you, we understand this review is older but we are changing and managing our hotel and online reviews and we thank you kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

No reservation, walked up & paid $66.24, he put me on the backside so I could monitor the train whistles. Internet does not work in room 318 (train whistle room) so I recommend not booking into 318 if you need internet. Room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bipin A, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, responded to this review, July 7, 2015
Thank you for the feedback, we have upgraded and our WiFi is working properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

made a mistake and wanted to change my booking with the hotel. I booked the room from europe but the date was one day ahead. I was booking the room for a friend that was stranded a with no where to stay and no internet connection at that very moment in san diego. So I called up and checked that my booking was correct at the time of booking and the guy said it was just coming through at that moment. unfortunately later I found out it was incorrect after all the effort I put i n... I then proceeded to call for a refund to cancle my book just a few hours later and both expedia and the hotel refused my request quoting policy. I am very unhappy with the result of this venture. The circumstances were unique and because they are a big company they are completely unflexable both the hotel and Expedia... my friends then had to pay out of their own pocket for a room so essentially we payed double for one night. I cant believe how greedy some people are, the real disappointing thing is I was doing this as a favor for a friend who was in real trouble and what do I get back for all my hard work and effort and caring attitude? a slap in the face from the companies involved... so ridiculous! I would highly NOT recommend this travel lodge for the very fact for their un courteous and way they handled my request.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuahaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bipin A, Manager at Rodeway Inn San Ysidro, responded to this review, July 7, 2015
We understand this review is years old, however we did want to say thank you for the feedback, we have made many changes staff and decor, and we considered your feedback in our meeting to better our customer service. Thanks again.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ysidro
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#173 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn San Ysidro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn San Ysidro

Property: Rodeway Inn San Ysidro
Address: 643 E San Ysidro Blvd, San Ysidro, CA 92173-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Ysidro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in San Ysidro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn San Ysidro 1.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn San Ysidro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge San Ysidro
Travelodge San Ysidro
San Ysidro Travel Lodge
San Ysidro Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing