We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please pass this hotel by”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites Near the Border
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Ysidro
Reviewed November 19, 2007

stayed here the past weekend, in the ads it states that all rooms have a fireplace, etc. There are no fireplaces. The pool is empty, cracked, unable to hold water. The bedspread was so dirty, I was afraid to touch it to take it back down to the office. They could not give me another bedspread, they didn't have one, so they gave me a cotten mattress cover to sleep with. The carpeted floor was so dirty- that when you walked from the bathroom on it, then back into the bathroom you made mud prints on the floor. And the best part was needing a late check out- and they charged me by the minute...Stay far away!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Michelencali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2007

We travel to San Ysdro often to visit Adelita Bar in Tijuana. The rooms are currently in the process of being renovated. When we were there, the hotel pool was closed. While we were in our room the hot water pipe bursted and water was spraying all over the place. Thank GOD we were in the room and was able to turn the water off. The staff was quick to fix the pipe. The breakfast was horrible. cereal, jewish rye bread, and white bread with a toaster. If you don't mind eating a Dennies, you'll probably like this place.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank teamplayrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

I booked room based on pictures on website, the rooms smelled, our nightstand was falling apart, stains on carpet and worse of all ....their was still hair on bathroom floor from previous guest.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank nirvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

The rooms were dirty and the towels they provided weren't enough. There wasn't a remote in the room and when we requested one we had to program it ourselves. there was a dirty coffee machine without coffee. They offer light breakfast- toasted bread...that's it. The price on check out was higher than the price given when checking in- the management refused to do anything and was extremelly rude. Never had such a bad experience trying to deal with a customer service clerk or manager...
AVOID THIS PLACE

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kjj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

There was mold in the bathroom, no towels in a jacuzzi suite, and the desk clerks were rude. All tile/ceramic floors easy to slip and fall when getting out of the jacuzzi. room smelled bad, probably from the mold, clerk did not change room. we asked for more towels and the clerk said they were washing them still, took 3 hours to get more towels. manager had excuses for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xbriian55x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Ok, I'm looking at the other opinion and well, this hotel is fully renovated, is true that is beside the freeway but you know, rooms are very nice and spacious, the people care for you I spend 3 weeks because I was going to doctor apoinment in Tijuana they offer shuttle for free, I spend a good time there, I make friends also, front desk employees are very nice. i will go back, alone or with my family. one more think, maybe they are not perfect, but he try to serve their guest.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

this place is too close to the freeway. i could hear the car noise and the people in the parking lot under my window. there is no drive up lane so expect to be blocked in while waiting to get in or out. customer service sucks. room was dark and dingy. smelled old and of cigarette smoke. i felt bad that my 2 children had to sleep in beds that i wasnt even sure if the sheets were washed. i dont recommend staying here even as a last resort!!!!

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank atejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ysidro
0.2 mi away
Best Western Americana Inn
Best Western Americana Inn
#115 of 286 in San Diego
340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn San Ysidro
Knights Inn San Ysidro
#5 of 8 in San Ysidro
96 reviews
15.6 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#240 of 286 in San Diego
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#213 of 286 in San Diego
78 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Near the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Near the Border

Address: 930 W San Ysidro Blvd, San Ysidro, San Diego, CA 92173-1242 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Diego South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > San Ysidro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Ysidro
Price Range: $73 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites Near the Border 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Near the Border reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Diego South Hotel San Ysidro
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - San Diego South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing