We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blueberry Pancakes!”
Review of Big Sur Restaurant

Big Sur Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed July 5, 2016

This is a small restaurant nestled among the hotels just south of Hearst castle. The service is great and the food was excellent, especially the blueberry pancakes!! Lots of large fresh blueberrys in a light pancake batter. We also had a 3 egg French omelet, mushrooms, bacon and cheese. Way too much for one person to finish. Ask for only 2 eggs. They have an outside eating patio but it was a bit chilly so we stayed inside. The outside of the restaurant isn't much to look at but the food is worth it!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wrldtrvlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 412 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Walked over for dinner and was pleased with my experience overall. The place is clean and the staff is beyond friendly. The food was very good too! Will go back next time I'm in the area.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 672ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

We ate here because we didn't feel like driving to Cambria. The service was very good and the food was good. The decor needs to be updated, inside and out, but this is a good place to eat.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FLKaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

While this place doesn't look like a top notch restaurant, it certainly deliver when it comes to the food. We had three different things to eat and they were all good. An extra plus for the low volume on music and chatter. Very peaceful.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank LondonOlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Our waiter was attentive although the restaurant wasn't very crowded. The food was decently average. We were looking for a place to have a light dinner around 6:30 pm on a Sunday. The atmosphere was sort of strange. The music sounded like game music from a Nintendo game and the decor was a bit outdated. I would give it one more try though...

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikecruzin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Restaurant also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big Sur Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.