We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quick breakfast place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Restaurant

Big Sur Restaurant
9290 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452
+1 8059275258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great quick breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a place to grab some breakfast before we got on the road. We were the only people in this restaurant that morning. Guy who waited on us was nice and quick. Took our orders and then left us alone until the food was ready which I enjoyed. Seems like it is more of a place big tour buses would stop to have breakfast rather than a local. We got the French toast and the breakfast platter. Food was great although I think it was a tad bit overpriced at ten dollars for eggs toast has browns and sausage. If you re looking for breakfast and just want a breakfast place this is your place.

Helpful?
1 Thank sblibra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    62
    36
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD!!! GOOD!!! GOOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This restaurant even though it seemed really quite on a friday morning, we took our chanse and walked in here.....the service was great my waitress had a great smile and was very patient with us.....the food was wonderful, i had the ham and chesse omelet and it was the best, and the biggest i have ever tasted. Defenetly will be back for more... Thank you

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marylin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Over priced, but great service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went late for meal with my wife, the waiter was brilliant and the servings large - but it was too expensive for what it was. Clam chowder was good, and the waiter was fantastic, so we left a big tip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmac_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Much, much better than it looks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place did not look very promising from the outside but we took the chance as it was right next to our motel.
We were glad we did – the food was not fancy but was excellent quality, very well cooked and a sensible price. The salads were large and fresh and the soup homemade. Service matched, not fancy but very well intentioned and prompt.
This is not fine dining (for that see my review of the Bull and Bear at The Waldorf Astoria, Orlando) but it does not set out to be. What you get here are good ingredients, well prepared and promptly served.
After a long, spectacular, drive down The Big Sur in a Mustang convertible the meal here was the cherry on the top of a great day. So good that we returned the following evening after our day at Hearst Castle for second helpings!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good quality food served up in a nice environment.
I had never tried Chowder before but if I experience it again even half as good it'll be good. And the locally caught cod was as good as I get back home.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Restaurant also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big Sur Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing