We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious problem with cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn San Simeon
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The young woman checking us in was incredibly sweet! The location is convenient and overall the rooms were consistent with a two star hotel.
We were pleased overall until we went to check out and saw that the linens and towels for the rooms were stacked outside each door ON THE FLOOR OF THE HALLWAY!! In addition the laundry to be washed was in piles on the ground on the patio outside of the laundry room. Needless to stay we were completely disgusted! We searched for someone to address about such a clear violation of health and safety but couldn't find a soul! Won't stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pckendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn San Simeon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 618 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The problem we had with our stay was a group of extremely noisy people crashing around and talking for most of the night, and then again in the morning. They were quiet only between 1am and 5am. This highlighted the non-existent sound-proofing of the property. And so, because we only got half a night’s sleep, we wouldn’t stay again.

Otherwise, note that the Days Inn is not on the beach – if you want that, go elsewhere. That said, it was a short walk to the beach and to places to eat.

We paid more for a room with an ocean view and I think it was worth it as you could see some of the ocean over the other buildings in the way.

The room itself was large and was well equipped.

The free wifi was ok but not enough to stream Hulu.

The shower discriminates against short people – it’s mounted about 5’6’’ off the ground, and the towels are grey (not deliberately).

While there were coffee-making facilities, there was only 1 teabag and no actual way to make tea (except in the microwave, with a plastic or polystyrene cup).

Exiting the room in the morning we were hit with a blast of bleach fumes.

Breakfast was basic but definitely adequate, and you could certainly go somewhere nearby for a bigger feast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent two days here while visiting Hearst Castle. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was good and the hotel was very clean. A good value for the cost. The second floor has a better view, but there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachHunterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

my experience at days inn was GREAT. my husband and i was traveling along the coast with our 3 years old. we did not find a bit of problem with this place. the staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful upon our check-in and during the stay. they upgraded us to the bigger room with the ocean-view. we enjoyed the view and room by itself. the room was very clean, seemed like it was recently remodeled. i was very impressed by LINEN in the room. the sheets were freshly ironed and towels quality was newly white. yes, the breakfast was great start of the day as well. we didn't use the indoor spa but would've been nice to use it as well. we will come back for sure!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in Days inn for 1 night (2adults+2 kids), traveling along Hwy 1. We don't look for a fancy place, just clean rooms, good service, comfortable beds and preferably breakfast - for affordable price. Days inn was exactly like this, with big enough room for all 4 of us, bathtub, small balcony and I just wish we had the time to enjoy its beach. Instead we had a small but satisfactory breakfast (cereal, yougurt, waffles with coffee/juice) and about less then ten min were at the Hearst Castle for our tour. Great!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank ljknb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Simeon

Address: 9280 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $58 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
California Inns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing