We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn San Simeon
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    217
    162
    64
    42
See reviews for
222
245
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

PAPER. THIN. WALLS.
And not only the walls, but the ceiling, door, and window as well.
Don't come here if you value your sleep. You can hear literally every footstep of the person above, if you're unfortunate enough to get a room on the ground floor. I could feel the footsteps of the person above vibrating the headboard of my bed. I could also plainly hear the footsteps and every spoken word of people walking in the hallway outside, the cleaning staff and their children, and in the parking lot.
Manager/owner/supervisor obviously didn't care much when we complained, offering weak apologies and claiming himself incapable of doing anything to make it up to us. He weakly explained that it was because we had arrived in the evening that we were put into a first floor unit - basically admitting that the rooms are noisy and crappy. He attempted to justify it by citing other patrons paying more money and not complaining, and how much other rooms in the area cost - neither of which has anything to do with the fact that we had a crappy experience in his room. I've actually stayed in far cheaper rooms, in more popular areas (Napa Valley, Temecula, Hawaii, San Fran, Vegas, etc), and had far better experiences. He interrupted us, wildly misinterpreted what we were saying in an attempt to argue, and even implied that our complaints were lies and told us we should have stayed somewhere else. Only after a long heated argument and totally losing his cool was he willing to angrily toss some money (barely over 10% of the full amount charged, mind you) onto the counter as recompense for our sleepless night, while loudly proclaiming our greediness when we accepted the money. In a supreme display of unprofessional conduct he went so far as to mockingly imitate my wife's motion of putting it in her pocket, as if we were wrong for taking some small compensation for our inferior experience at his hotel. The whole argument could have been avoided if he would have offered half the amount he gave us at the very beginning as an apology, instead of being an unsympathetic, penny-pinching unprofessional jerk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We left our iPad in the room. When we got home and discovered we had left it we called and it was already in the office with our room number on it. Gave the manager the name of a friend who would pick it up the next day. The room was very clean, modern and comfy bed and pillows. Great view from private patio. Will definitely stay there again next year when we make the same trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSS, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you found your iPad back. Thank you for choosing Days Inn in San Simeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

What great people, we called them and they said they had it. We really appreciate their professionalism. Thank You !!

We have recently traveled all over the United States and have now been in every state using just motels. We now know many types and quality of service a motel can give. We arrived late to the Days Inn at San Simeon, easily parked at dusk, close to access our room. We could see the motel was freshly renovated with all new carpet and paint. No perfume smell and our warm room looked very rich and tastefully decorated. Plenty of thick white towels. Very comfortable beds with pillows of varying support. A patio with ocean view, flat screen with HBO, refrigerator and microwave.

This is the first motel that we didn't sleep with windows cracked for fresh air!!
Tasty little mon n pop restaurant next door.

We can say that this motel is very unique and highly recommend this motel if you want to be more than pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSS, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to accommodating you on your next trip to San Simeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here as a cheap please to stay in order to go see the Hearst Castle. We were very happy at how clean the room was and the friendly staff. I LOVE taking a hot shower and never had a problem with it. The hotel was quiet and it was also very convenient to a vending machine in the hall that even had toothpaste as well as a little liquor/convenient store at the end of the road.

Across the street is the beach and all the hotels are right next to one another so paying more for a neighboring hotel just didn't seem worth it to us. Would stay here again on our next trip.

Btw , staying on the first floor would be preferred if you have a lot of luggage as I don't remember seeing an elevator. Its only a 2 story building....just FYI.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lotus_Hiker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSS, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your words of appreciation. We value your business. Thanks for choosing Days Inn in San Simeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were here in November, probably the low season. We felt like paying nothing for having a good room with breakfast. So if you are on 1, and need a break this is definetely a nice place to have it. It's also very near to the Hearst castle and a Elephant seal colony.

Room Tip: A ground floor, as it is convenient to not carry luggage upstairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohanHagendijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSS, Front Office Manager at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write few words of appreciation for us. We value your feedback and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Simeon

Property: Days Inn San Simeon
Address: 9280 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
California Inns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing