We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange hotel staff, beat up rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn San Simeon
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed March 11, 2012

A friend and I were heading up to Hearst Castle for a film festival event and decided to book a local hotel rather then make the long drive back to So. Cal after the screening. We ended up at the Days' Inn. I guess I will start with the good news: The hotel is in a pretty good location and the price was low. It's very close to beach access with great walking trails and just a few miles from Hearst Castle; at the time we booked it, the room was just $65 per night. That's about it.
Now, the bad news: by far the worst thing were the rude front desk people. Let me preface this by stating that the entire hotel parking lot was empty, like a ghost town! When the clerk handed us our keys I VERY specifically asked if we had an ocean view room, I mean we are the only guests, right? He looked me in the eye and nodded and said yes. Well of course when we marched our way up through the empty echoing hallways what did we find but NO, we faced a hill on the backside. So I went back down and asked if we could change rooms. Apparently this was a little overwhelming for the first clerk, so a lady came out and hemmed and hawed about they might be all booked up and I needed to request this in advance and they would cost more money.. So I simply said, "Ok then can you please refund my room charge? I will go to one of the neighboring hotels and get an ocean view there. Thanks!".. Man did that change her tune, suddenly she "found" an ocean view room and practically bent over backwards trying to be nice.. it was truly bizarre. What was most irritating is that she put up the "fully booked, extra money" thing in the first place which was, apparently an act of some kind.
So we did end up in the ocean view room.. and the view was really nice. The hotel itself was pretty beat up, perhaps they are giving it a much needed renovation because there was a big pile of loose concrete by the entrance and some of the stucco was ripped off the walls. Inside there wasn't a single piece of furniture that looked like it hadn't seen the bad side of a fraternity party.. the walls were beat up the wood was chipped the carpet was creepy.. When we turned on the shower the first few moments produced brown water(though it did get warm) the only thing that appeared in good condition was the hair dryer and the sink.
I mean we were only there for one night, and there were no bedbugs (believe me, we checked!) so no big deal, had the staff been more forthright it would be barely worth the review. I would LOVE to go back to that area but there are at least 5 hotels in a row and across the street I would gladly pick ANY one of those hotels over the Day's Inn.

Oh another good thing, there is a little restaurant in the parking lot (not at the hotel) I think called the San Simeon diner or something.. I had the BEST French toast EVER! Really nice service too and they gave me a 10% discount because I was at the Days Inn.. I would go back to that place in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Be sure to get your ocean view well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redmango43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for bringing this issue up about the rude behaviour of the staff. This is totally unacceptable. We will certainly have a discussion with them and make sure this incident doesnt happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 628 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed two nights for my birthday. It was an excellent rate, esp for a Fri and Sat night. There was a decent breakfast in the morning, plus you get 10% off at the cafe next door if you show them your room key. The room was clean and big; it was quiet. The beds were not for us; a little bit too hard of a mattress. Also wish there had been some fresh fruit in the breakfast. But it was great overall. I wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We Stayed in Days Inn San Simeon was the best hotel i ever stayed in my life very clean and big room and staff was very friendly also Front Desk Manager Uzma give us excellent customer service and one of kind person, she was the one who chekd us in at night and we were very surprised that in the morning Uzma is the one helped us out with the breakfast... She is a very good person and knows how to do her job so my Recommendation to all travelor that you should stay in Days Inn San Simeon Ca

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Days Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

this was the nicest days inn we've ever stayed in. Uzma was so helpful - went above and beyond

very good rates and very nice and clean. renovations were under way, but did not disturb us.
J f, coarsegold CA

Room Tip: 2nd floor has ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jf-coarsegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

given the start to our experience at the Days Inn, i was shocked the the manager asked me to provide feedback on the hotel as we checked out. i am now making good on my promise to tell the world what happened. honestly though, i'm still not really sure what did happen at check in.

12 days prior to arrival, i'd booked a 2 queen/non smoking room. we were running late on our day of arrival so i called to say that we were still coming and reconfirmed the type of room we had booked. i was told not to worry, take our time and they would see us when we got there.

great.

right?

wrong.

we walked into reception and the manager was asking her employee if we were "the problem". that's not really what you want to hear on walking in the door at 7pm on a saturday night of a holiday weekend. the manager proceeded to apologize to me. they didn't have our room. they were really sorry. she asked me when we booked. could she see my confirmation. she was new to this hotel. they had construction going on. blah blah blah.

i was dumbfounded being that we had called 2.5 hours prior and they were so casual about everything. we were now told that the only room they had was a queen and they could give us a roll away bed. supposedly everyone had checked in and that was all that was left. the manager offered us 20% off our stay. i said i wasn't happy. she then offered us 50% off our stay. i still wasn't happy but as my friend rightfully pointed out, what choice did we have? everything else in town was sold out for the holiday weekend.

as i sat there stewing and weighing options, the manager miraculously found a 2 queen/non smoking room. huh? i told her i wasn't sure what had just happened. i asked my friend if she understood what had happened. it still is a mystery but it's a relief that our expectations were met and neither of us was spending our holiday weekend on a roll away bed!

the room itself:
had a bed that was just soft enough to make my back sore in the middle of both nights
had a light switch for the bathroom that was on the outside of the bathroom. strange...
had one lamp that was sharing an outlet with the fridge and tv so there was no outlet available for it unless you unplugged one of these other items.
wasn't replenished with coffee or coffee cups for the next morning. i had to get some at reception since she was short staffed and couldn't bring it to me.
had the soap removed after our first night so we had to open fresh soap the next day. huh?
had a fridge that did not include a freezer portion to refreeze my ice pack.
had a light fixture as bright as the sun over the bathroom vanity. totally not necessary.

the breakfast:
had a waffle maker. very great. loved it!
had good quality apple juice
had a single serving coffee maker that made light brown water and not good coffee
did NOT have any fruit. can you please add apples and bananas?

the spa:
was in an odd place and had poor ventilation but it was HUGE and the jets were powerful.

bottom line, i'll never go back there but i have to give the manager credit, she really did try everything possible to make me happy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexSantamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank pio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,858 reviews
0 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
919 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Inn
Sea Breeze Inn
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Simeon

Address: 9280 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $47 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
California Inns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing