We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site$54
Expedia.com$54
Priceline$54
Hotels.com$54
Tripadvisor$54
FindHotel
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
57
162
175
59
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
162
175
59
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hearst castle cambria ocean pet dogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 495 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Bit of a Grandpa Simpson of a motel: tired and smells funny. Why did the maid make up one bed but not the other when both were obviously being used? Breakfast won't be troubling the Michelin judges...

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

This Motel 6 is a basic, no frills motel. It's good for a one night stay, but wouldn't want to spend a week here. No coffee maker, fridge or microwave in the room, they provide soap but no shampoo or conditioner, so if your staying here make sure you bring your own. They have coffee in the lobby - no breakfast provided. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They had air conditioning which was great, although it had a constant banging noise which I pretended was rain falling on a tin roof so I could fall asleep. This is an old establishment so the walls are thin. Staff was nice. Free WiFi (heard the front desk tell a customer it was free because it's so slow). This motel is located south of Hearst Castle and the elephant seal rookery, so close to the sites.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

The Motel 6, while a basic hotel, was very comfortable and clean, with a secluded swimming pool adjacent to the front block of rooms. Coffee was available in the morning, but the on-site restaurant offered a good buffet. We also ate at the restaurant at night and the meal was reasonably priced with a good choice. Friendly staff in both the hotel and restaurant. Plenty parking space on site. While rated a budget hotel, if all Motel 6s are as good as this one, then happy to use again.
Only issue was the large landslip that had cut the Pacific Coast Highway (Hwy 1) at Big Sur, meaning that we were unable to drive the scenic route and had to go inland on the Hwy 101 to reach San Simeon (for Hearst Castle).

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra and Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

I believe this was not built as a motel 6 but was bought and converted. Rooms are off an interior corridor. Standard decent motel 6 room. Clean etc. A real plus is they are dog friendly and dogs are allowed at San Simeon Beach. The beach is just across the freeway. On decent site restaurant and several other choices in walking distance.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visalia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

First of all we weren't even booked in because our online booking booked date we booked it, which apparently does happen, so ended up paying double and not sure if we will get refund for original booking. There were no coffee making facilities, no toiletries except bar of soap, no extra pillows or blankets either. Only use two electronics for wifi free and there was 5 of us. BASIC, would not stay in any motel 6 again! Get cheaper and more luxury elsewhere

Room tip: Not motel 6
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Hi Sharon. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard your reservation and the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews