We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap stay, large rooms”
Review of Motel 6 San Simeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 San Simeon
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Stavanger
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cheap stay, large rooms”
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Positive experiences with this motel. We had a large room facing to the backside of the hotel. Clean and tidy, but NO refrigiator in the room.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — No refrigiator in room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stavanger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    138
    148
    51
    35
See reviews for
136
151
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

The Motel 6 in San Simeon was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and nice. The staff in the front desk were polite. Sure, the corridor and stairs were a bit worn, but beside that, my husband and I was content. Our room faced the hillside: We did not hear a single noise from the Pacific Coast Highway 1! Everything was quiet!

  • Liked — The location, close to heartst castle and great nature and the price
  • Disliked — the stains on the carpet in the corridor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaUmeaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2008

This was our first experience in a Motel 6, during four weeks of travel in the USA. I must admit that the cost of the room at $52.00 had me a little worried when I saw the rates clearly signposted in the hotel lobby. We were however pleasantly surprised at the standard of the room. As you would expect, it had no refrigerator or other cooking devices. The room was clean, bed comfortable and had everything we needed for a good nights sleep. We also used the hotel restaurant and found the food good, reasonably priced and staff friendly.

The receptionist gave us a phone number to ring prior to our departure, asking us to participate in a survey on how we found the hotel. It would appear that either the chain or individual hotel are trying to improve its image.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank floody48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

I am surprised by the negative review just before this, as I had such a positive experience. I was given a room on the second floor in the middle building (of three buildings). I could see the ocean from my room, which was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. No problem with the carpet or bathroom in my room, unlike the previous reviewer.

I was impressed that this Motel 6 had interior hallways and a nice restaurant on-site. The parking lot was well lit and the whole hotel seemed very safe. It was a 5 minute drive to the Hearst Castle and Cambria (many restaurants) is about 7 minutes away.

For the $35.99 internet rate, all I was hoping for was clean and comfortable. This hotel far exceeded those expectations. I would certainly stay again and recommend to others. (I hope they don't get the room the other reviewer got!)

  • Liked — Location / Value
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank takingahike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

After a long drive from San Fran we were tired and exhausted and just needed a bed. Unfortunately we tried Motel 6 first and were happy with the price - we should have known better.

The room was spacious but the door was so poorly fitted that the light from the hall was shining through it all night. The walls were even thinner than paper and I could hear next door snoring - although we were on the opposing wall.

The bed was comfy enough for the night but the bahtroom was full of mould so that we refused to have a shower there.

Both receptionists were indifferent but polite.

Would I stay again ?? No way, never !!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise, the mould in the bathroom, dirty carpets
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wesi1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Brasília
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

When I arrived there was a dummy guy at the reception who asked for my "driver's license". Since I'm not American, I showed him the proper document for a foreigner: a passport, where all my personal data and a photo are printed. He asked me again for a driver's license and I explained that the passport was the adequate document for a hotel, not the driver's licence. He insisted rudely, asking me if I had or not a driver's license. I realized that I should show my driver's license otherwise I would not have the room. At this time I was guessing if I was Japanese, Thai or Arab, with a document written in these languages what that guy would do with the document. Sure he should ask for a photo ID, but he was so badly trained or even so dummy that for him the only possible photo ID is a driver's license. So if you are a tourist that do not have a driver's license or for any reason didn't bring it with youserlf, you can't get a room there. The room looked clean, but has a smell that made me suppose that it has been closed for months. The restaurant has a very slow service, so don't go there if you are pushed by the time. The rudeness of reception is a standard maintained at the restaurant. If I come back to San Simeon someday, I'll try another accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

At the end of long day’s ride it was a pleasure to check into the Motel 6 in San Simeon. The room was comfortable and quite spacious and the pool area quite private. I ate across the road at a very nice Mexican restaurant and enjoyed a good night’s sleep. The staff were busy cleaning the main floor hallway rugs and I assume that the second floor hallway was next as it really needed a good steam clean.

Attached to the hotel are a nicely appointed restaurant and bar.

Good budget accommodation in a very beautiful area. I’d stay here again.

Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.3 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Simeon

Property: Motel 6 San Simeon
Address: 9070 Castillo Dr, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at Vista Del Mar exit, San Simeon, CA 93452-9726
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Simeon - Hearst Castle Area is 6 miles from Hearst Castle and across the street from the ocean! Some rooms offer a partial view of the ocean. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, outdoor pool and smoke free rooms. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Motel 6 San Simeon Hearst Castle Area
Motel Six San Simeon
San Simeon Motel Six
San Simeon Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing