We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it's supposed to be . . .”
Review of Motel 6 San Simeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 San Simeon
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“It is what it's supposed to be . . .”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A place to sleep and shower for those wishing to stick to a tight budget.

For $49, I have no complaints. The room and bathroom were very clean. When I told the front desk lady I was exhausted from driving and just needed a decent night's sleep, she gave me a room upstairs, away from the stairs/entrance to the building, with no neighbors on either side of my room.

It seems some of the reviewers aren't happy with what they get for 50 bucks in San Simeon. Considering that all the other hotels and motels in this area start at at least twice as much, there's really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    139
    152
    52
    35
See reviews for
137
156
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

i want to let everyone they made my cancelation right they refunded my money. but for further references you need to get a cancelation number to cancel. thanks vicki konkel did not stay here i had to cancel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Motel 6 strikes again!! We stayed here to save a few bucks and yet again that proved a bad idea. When we checked in the front desk guy had some kind of nasty plague that seemed contagious - this was our first impressions of the place.

He checked us into a room in the farthest block despite the joint being apparently mostly empty. We had to drive up the very back of the parking lot to get to it. The rooms are not easily accessible from the parking lot due to what can only be described as idiotic architecture.

The room was roughly finished but clean enough I suppose. There were conspicuous workmen in the hallway too.

We proceeded to leave the room to find a restaurant/pub and to spend as little time at the motel as possible as it wasn't a very nice environment.

Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Get drunk to make it better. Also internet is extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

marin County, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel still has the only great price in the San Simeon area. Based on the other reviews, I'm guessing my experience was unique, and simply because I requested the accessible room with a roll-in shower. Maybe ours was the only room like this one. I hope so!

The room was smelly, felt dirty. The bedspread had a burn-hole in it. The beds were low to the ground and extremely saggy. I really felt as if I were in an old cheap hotel from the movies.

I would have to say this is probably because this room doesn't rent as often as the others - I'm betting the management has held it back from renovation for this reason. I would spend more money and stay elsewhere, to find an accessible room in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelizetoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Along a string of motels and inns is Motel 6. From what I saw, this was the least expensive... It was still $79/room after taxes were added. I would have given it 2 stars, but being that it was the best deal in town, that made up for the other things.

The room was very basic but all we needed was a place to stay for the night so that we could get an early start to Hearst Castle. The beds were comfortable enough, but the pillows substandard in size and the sheets, blanket and comforter felt paper thin. The single paned windows let in a lot of the cold sea air so I woke up shivering in the middle of the night until we turned on the heater, which was a bit noisy.

I would recommend bringing a sleeping back, comfy pillow (which I saw another resident carrying from her room... smart lady!) and keeping the heat on at low. My daughter, who brought her own pillow and blanket and wore a thick warm sweat jacket to bed was the only one who didn't wake up in the middle in the night from the cold.

In the morning, if you're careful, you can cross Highway 1 pretty easily and take a short stroll out and along the ocean. It's very calming and peaceful with the sound of the waves lapping the shore.

And only 15 mins south of San Simeon is Cambria where there are some cute little breakfast places to go... we went to Creekside Gardens which had Ebelskivers and other yummy and filling breakfasts (The Apricot French Toast that others raved about was a bit soggy). I had a a nice big cup of coffee, which was good! And they even have waffles and eggs benedict which aren't on the menu but they will make it for you. Nice mom and pop restaurant.

Bottom line:

If you want just the basics, are wiling to bring a few comforts from home, the price is right, the location very conveniently set between Hearst Castle and north of Cambria and a short stroll from the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room higher in number... That is further from the main entrance. The odd numbers are facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I've passed by this Motel 6 on several occasions believing it would probably be expensive due to its near-ocean location. Instead I've stayed at a Motel 6 30-40 miles inland at Paso Robles (which I'll review next). Well, I was very pleasantly surprised to learn that this M6 was reasonably priced, clean, and well maintained - it's my new favorite between the two. My impression is that it's like the average Motel 6 but with no obvious cleanliness issues or deferred maintenance disappointments - it's a very good place to stay, at a very good price. As mentioned by another reviewer, the adjoining restaurant is forgettable but there are other choices in the little community. (One thing that Motel 6 ought to drop is the $3 wifi fee - it's nothing but annoying to pay extra for it).

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a slight view of the Pacific (and the highway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailorlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimper, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

It didn't look like the usual Motel 6, in a good way. The price was good, the room was big and clean, and the bathroom was great too.
However it did get cold during the night, and the heating system was just too loud.
Also, I wouldn't advise the adjoining restaurant, even with the 10 percent discount.
But I would recommend it to anyone traveling in this area on a tight budget!

Room Tip: Ask for an extra blanket!! (in the winter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireL2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
378 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Simeon

Property: Motel 6 San Simeon
Address: 9070 Castillo Dr, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at Vista Del Mar exit, San Simeon, CA 93452-9726
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Simeon - Hearst Castle Area is 6 miles from Hearst Castle and across the street from the ocean! Some rooms offer a partial view of the ocean. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, outdoor pool and smoke free rooms. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Motel 6 San Simeon Hearst Castle Area
Motel Six San Simeon
San Simeon Motel Six
San Simeon Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing