We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think of staying here.”

Quality Inn San Simeon
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn San Simeon
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't even think of staying here.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked ahead because we were afraid of not finding a room after driving down Route 1. To guarantee the room we gave the hotel our credit card. Big mistake. When we arrived we were very unimpressed with the outside of the hotel, especially compared to other hotels in San Simeon. After asking to see the room, we decided to stay elsewhere but couldn't because our card would be charged even though we didn't stay. So we spent the night in a very poor representative of the Quality Inn chain. This hotel has major problems. Here are a few. The only access to the front wing of the hotel on the first floor other than the lobby is locked and cannot be accessed with your room key. The access door on the 2nd floor is unlocked and can't be locked providing anyone free access to hotel rooms. The gate to the pool is unsecured and anyone, including anyone (like a small child) access to the pool area. The shower drain didn't drain very well. There is ceiling fan which made the room very stuffy since there is no AC. The breakfast area is tiny and the breakfast offerings were minimal at best. There are far better alternatives in San Simeon for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank altalomafolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    77
    77
    35
    34
See reviews for
86
110
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our room was on the first floor and looked on to the courtyard. The room was large and clean. We were missing a few towels so we found a staff member and asked if we could have a few more, they were very helpful and delivered our clean towels to the room. The hotel was only a short walk across the highway to the beach which was great! The only things that needs much improvement are the pool and the breakfast room. The pool was said to be heated... it wasn't and it was very dirty. The location of the pool was nice and the fire pit was great but the cleanliness of it wasn't. Quality Inn has a continental breakfast but the room only had about 5 tables seating three or four, Which sounds okay but when you have 8 families in the room at once it isn't a pleasant experience. Overall, I was very happy with the room and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was listed as a 4 star, but NO WAY did it meet that quality. When you walked into the room, the tile was all chipped, every time someone walked down the hall, even rooms away, you could hear every foot step. In the morning, the seal around the door was so bad, you could see the shadow of people walking by come into your room!! Not that clean, nite staff friendly when we checked in. I wouldn't give this place more than 2 stars. Breakfast much lacking.

Room Tip: Find another hotel in San Simeon if you want a good nite's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although this hotel is older, we were pleasantly surprised with the nice rooms and cleanliness. Our room was on the second floor on the front. There was a bit of noise from Highway 1, but that was ok, because we had a view of the Pacific. The lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. It was a short walk down to the coast. We would visit this hotel if ever in the area again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for the back building. It is away from the street and has a lovely little co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skm8661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had the Hearst Castle special two night package. It included two tickets to Hearst Castle and two dinners. The meal at the hotel restaurant was very good and exceeded out expectations. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1NightOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After driving for 6 hours and enjoying the terrific scenery along highway 1 we needed a place to hang our hats for the night. Came across this little area with hotels, shops and restaurants and chose the Quality Inn. Great choice. What a choice, what with a very friendly receptionist, a lovely modern room with a king bed and plush bedding, free wireless internet, a pool, a jacuzzi and even free breakfast.All that and in a peaceful quiet area with the sounds of birds and just about nothing else. We couldn't go wrong and we didn't. You wont go wrong here and you wont be disappointed. A definite gem and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont really matter, its only two floors and its so peaceful anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Quality inns are usually mid level trending to low level hotels. I was surprised that the room was decent and didn't smell bad. I got a room in the front wing so cant vouch for the rear one. Free continental breakfast was also unexpected. Just toast, fruit and waffles so no big deal but when you have kids, a free breakfast that they can pick out is always a winner.
The attached restaurant was a winner. Better than most that are attached to hotels. A bit pricey for what it was and if you like simple fare your going to hate it. The chef is one of those creative guys. My kids didn't like it but the wife and I thought it pretty good.
Id stay here again next time I visit Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: I can only say that the front wing which is attached to the entrance has been occupied by myself so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,722 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Property: Quality Inn San Simeon
Address: 9260 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing