We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn San Simeon
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Quality inns are usually mid level trending to low level hotels. I was surprised that the room was decent and didn't smell bad. I got a room in the front wing so cant vouch for the rear one. Free continental breakfast was also unexpected. Just toast, fruit and waffles so no big deal but when you have kids, a free breakfast that they can pick out is always a winner.
The attached restaurant was a winner. Better than most that are attached to hotels. A bit pricey for what it was and if you like simple fare your going to hate it. The chef is one of those creative guys. My kids didn't like it but the wife and I thought it pretty good.
Id stay here again next time I visit Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: I can only say that the front wing which is attached to the entrance has been occupied by myself so...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn San Simeon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on Coastal Highway. Placed in a general hotel area near San Simeon.
Reasonable rooms but vary ordinary hotel. Not so well maintained. Not so much to do.
Breakfast was though good.
Restaurant next door was very good with fine food.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The room looked like it was recently upgraded but it smelt like urine. Woke up several times during the night gagging of the smell. Carpets were filthy, towels were so worn out, that Ive seen toilet paper that was thicker. We had to run the hot water several minutes before it ran hot. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here because we were going to tour the Hearst Castle. We selected a room with the ocean view balcony which is on second floor and they do not have an elevator. We did eat at the attached restaurant and had the evening special, which was over priced, a small serving and only OK.
We should have had two nights so we could spend the full day at the Castle since there is plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired12-31-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been here several times on the AAA special. We upgrade to the jacuzzi suite. Never, disappointed. The restaraunt is AWESOME. Staff in both places are wonderful. So friendly! Even offer suggestions! We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Always upgrade to the jacuzzi suite!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnk021409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place was great for an overnight stay. We came down for the evening Hearst Castle tour so this place was in the perfect location. The staff at check in was very friendly, and despite the system being down they were able to get us into our room right away. The bed was comfortable enough and we had an ocean view across the highway (not bad for $50). The room was very quiet until the neighbors decided to have a shouting match from 8:00 am until we checked out at 9:30 am.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberlee44us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for its location and reasonable price, but I wouldn't stay here again. The place was filthy! There was blood on the blanket and I won't even say what was on the comforter. Many of the towels were stained and the floor was dirty, too. I asked for a deodorant stick at the desk because I had left mine at home, but the one they handed me had dried up and gone bad.

The room amenities are decent, each room has a desk, a table, a large tv, a fairly large fridge, a microwave, and a coffee pot. The walls are pretty thin, though, so if you're a light sleeper, be warned. The front desk people were friendly, but not very knowledgeable.

The restaurant was at least fairly nice. I had the mushroom ravioli and it was quite good, though the prices were pretty high.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are noisy due to thin ceilings.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
614 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Address: 9260 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range: $88 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing