We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn San Simeon
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place was great for an overnight stay. We came down for the evening Hearst Castle tour so this place was in the perfect location. The staff at check in was very friendly, and despite the system being down they were able to get us into our room right away. The bed was comfortable enough and we had an ocean view across the highway (not bad for $50). The room was very quiet until the neighbors decided to have a shouting match from 8:00 am until we checked out at 9:30 am.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberlee44us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 275 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for its location and reasonable price, but I wouldn't stay here again. The place was filthy! There was blood on the blanket and I won't even say what was on the comforter. Many of the towels were stained and the floor was dirty, too. I asked for a deodorant stick at the desk because I had left mine at home, but the one they handed me had dried up and gone bad.

The room amenities are decent, each room has a desk, a table, a large tv, a fairly large fridge, a microwave, and a coffee pot. The walls are pretty thin, though, so if you're a light sleeper, be warned. The front desk people were friendly, but not very knowledgeable.

The restaurant was at least fairly nice. I had the mushroom ravioli and it was quite good, though the prices were pretty high.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are noisy due to thin ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a great spot right off the 1; The restaurant/bar at the corner across from the liquor store was a lot fun! even offered happy hour.. across the highway with pretty easy access is the beach.. Would have no issues staying here again (tho a little caveat: the 'full wet bar' offered only water, tea and coffee, none of the goods for purchase; there is the liquor store down the road on the corner tho) Other than that, rooms were really clean and comfy..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdandik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here because the next morning we were visiting Hearst Castle, which is very near to the hotel. Complimentary breakfast and wifi, good rooms and beds. Although it was not really the right time/season for a beach (across the street) hotel, it was a good stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvduren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because of its close proximity to Hearst Castle. Price was good and the reason for this is that San Simeon itself is nothing more than a strip of motels either side of Hwy 1. Therefore the area is totally unremarkable and there is nothing to 'walk to'. However if you are just staying over as part of your tour the hotel was excellent. Large clean airy rooms, good pool (small) and Hot Tub and a Fire Pit you can sit around at night (if you've brought your own alcohol). There is an excellent Restaurant attached to the Hotel (Manta Rey) which we would recommend. The only niggle was the 'abrupt' customer service - for example we asked for the Fire Pit to be lit, and it was, but we were told in no uncertain terms that it closed at 10pm prompt. We drove into Cambria, a little town just 5 miles away, and that was quaint, and noticed on the way that 'Moonstone Beach' with lots of motels right on the beach seemed to be THE area that people stayed in and this area was jumping, so perhaps more homework should have been done in advance. However having said that, we had no complaints about the hotel and would recommend it as good value. Just don't be shocked that you appear to be in the middle of nowhere when you arrive.

Room Tip: Not worth paying an extra $10 for a sea-view room. Too distant and you are looking across the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very pleasant room, friendly welcome, free breakfast. We were quite comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was decent, but would be better if a little more effort was made. Very friendly staff upon arrival. Enjoyed the fireplace and jacuzzi. I felt guilty tough because they are trying conserve water.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yomamalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's close proximity to Hearst Castle, and because it was close to the beach.

When we arrived we found the receptionist quite abrupt. We rang the bell only once for attention, and she appeared remarking to us that she had already told us twice that she was coming to see us. Needless to say something we did not expect or appreciate.

Our room had a small balcony and it was located on level 2 overlooking a small garden area. It was quiet and tranquil. The room was large with plenty of space. The down side was that the toilet was crooked against the wall, and was temperamental when flushed making a noise.

Breakfast was a disappointment, tables were not cleaned after use, the waste bin was full and it seemed like 10 minutes before someone came to fill up the orange juice and provide more food for the guests. Not sure if there was a staffing issue.

Room Tip: Second floor room overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,902 reviews
0 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
556 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Address: 9260 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range: $68 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Central Coast midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, at the would famous Hearst Castle, is the Quality Inn San Simeon. Guests can enjoy a day of touring the castle, wine tasting, the quaint town of Cambria, restaurants and shopping while staying in our spacious, clean, and comfortable rooms. Just off scenic Pacific Coast Highway 1, our fun and friendly staff is ready to help with your next California beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing