We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resting after driving Rout 1.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Resting after driving Rout 1.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at this motel for a couple of days in June 2014 at a reasonable cost and a large room. The motel is very clean and comfortable, with a covered swimming pool which we did not experience Check in was efficient and we were given discount vouchers for a restaurant nearby, which we used for dinner and breakfast.
The motel was opposite the Ocean, and we even managed to sunbathe on the sandy beach opposite. We had coffee provide and a good TV. The wash room was good with plenty of hot water.
San Simeon is a small place but near the motel were a collection of eateries.
Would stay again for a short stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor, and if you have cases to carry, then these are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    168
    170
    64
    45
See reviews for
183
166
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a decent motel to crash out if you are tiered from driving and need to stop for a night to relax before continuing your journey. This is by no means a 5 star resort but it is a nice little motel with a nice pool. My room was massive had a really incredible view to the ocean across the HWY. The price was good and the place was clean. Perfect for a nights rest at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2nd floor facing the HWY and the view to the ocean was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Budd Lake NJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night last September. It was a very clean, comfortable, and modernized motel. It is right across the street from the ocean. It was handy to get to the Hearst Castle and Moonstone Beach. The staff was friendly.To get breakfast you have to go to a place down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catbite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We had the "Family Room". Huge room! One king, two queens, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TV, table and chairs... Our teen kids had their own beds. Comfy beds, blankets and pillows. It was terrific. Price was great and great places to eat just steps away. Definitely stay there again and highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shobs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 for 1 night.
Not much to say about this place. Rooms were clean and tidy, but could probably do with a renvoation. We were given 237, which was on the ground floor, so we were able to park right outside the door, making it easier with our bags.
Front desk staff member was polite but seemed quite uninterested in us.
Free Wi-Fi was not really fast, but was appreciated nonetheless.
We were not told about any local restaurants or bars, even though the hotel did not offer any food etc, except for an American breakfast for $7.50, that we were not told about either.
Useful place to stay if you are on the way down the Pacific Coastal Highway, as Hearst Castle is close by, and Cambria is 5-10 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troyman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

A single night stay after visiting Hearst Castle, I was very happy with our room. Three double beds in a large room with a table and four chairs for a decent value in price it made for comfort for our family of 5 with two teens and an adult son. The shower head was a little low but that would honestly be my only complaint, the location was good right across from the beach and we all got a comfy night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaD510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I'll start by agreeing with some other recent positive reviews. This motel has a good location on the Central Coast, very close to Hearst Castle and Cambria. The room was spacious, clean and quiet with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. For the ridiculously low price, you couldn't really ask for more.

That said, I do have some less positive observations to share. Having internet availability is important to me. If an inn doesn't offer free wi-fi, I won't stay there. This place advertises free wi-fi, but they did not deliver. The wi-fi was utterly useless. I logged on, my computer showed that I was connected with excellent signal strength, but that simply was not true. I had nothing! They let me down. A visit to the front desk did not solve the problem.
If you plan on keeping ice cream in the in-room freezer, don't, unless you like soup!
The indoor pool is a bit small, but that's okay. The water was clear, which you'd expect when you enter the pool area and are nearly knocked over by the massive chlorine smell. Over-chlorination notwithstanding, there is a ring around the pool! Around the entire perimeter of the pool, there is four inches of grunge on the tile just above the surface of the water. I guess it's been there for awhile, because folks have scratched their names in it, as well as words like "filth" and "wash me", Nasty! Tip: the towels are at the front desk (you won't find any in the pool area itself).
One last nitpick - we got one bar of soap which disintegrated literally within seconds. I couldn't believe it! Seriously. I started to lather it up and it broke into five pieces!

Finally, I'll agree with a reviewer who stated that the bathroom fan was loud. Ours (room 235) sounded like a small tractor! And I'll disagree with the reviewer who felt that the breakfast was advertised as free. I was very clear that breakfast was $7. That was clearly stated in a couple of places. Given the overall experience we'd had, we opted to drive into Cambria for breakfast rather than see what seven bucks would get us here ;)

In conclusion, we did get exactly what we paid for, a clean comfortable room at a low, low price. If you need more amenities, this might be be your best option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn San Simeon

Property: Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Address: 9450 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtesy Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing