We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Extremely overpriced”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here because I made a huge mistake and booked the San Simeon Lodge next door for the WRONG DATES! Pickings were slim during summer so I gritted my teeth and paid an enormous amount of money for a Saturday night (Sunday night was much cheaper) at the Courtesy Inn. The room was large and I slept fairly well on the bed, but the bathroom was cheaply and shoddily done and falling apart.
Bottom line - this room did what it was supposed to do - I had a bed, a bathroom and wi-fi - but it should be nicer for that much money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    168
    170
    64
    45
See reviews for
183
166
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a pinch. The room was very clean and a good size. The bed was clean and comfortable, and the WiFi worked well. There is an indoor pool, however we arrived late and the pool was already closed, so we don't know how it was. The only real drawback for the price was that if you were on the bottom floor, you could hear the people above you walking around. Would suggest a 2nd floor room.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very good option for this location. To give you an idea, just down the road is Harmony, CA, with a population of 16. The main reason to stop in this area is for the Hearst Castle tour. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the free Wi-Fi worked well, the TV channel selection was limited, there was a frig and microwave but we were just passing through. The about $70 rate was a good value, but not breakfast. Limited restaurant options nearby. Don't be looking for fast food chain location in the area. We would stay here again and recommend it, for a limited stay. Did not try the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patterbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our drive from LA to SF. We arrived late, having booked the room at a very discounted rate on booking.com a few hours before while we stopped for dinner in Morro Bay.

The room was HUGE, the bed was HUGE and there were all the usual things you would expect - TV, soap, shampoo etc. Check-in and check-out were quick. The area was quitet. There was also a pool which closes at night and reopens in the morning so we arrived too late and left too early to use it. Not too much to do in the area, so an adequate stop-off on you PCH drive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AEM967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was surprised by the size of the room which was very large.
The swimming pool was very nice for the kids. There are also tables next to the pool when you can have you own breakfast in the morning (they don't serve breakfast, only coffee)

You don't have to be very picky. I agree with a previous review that states that everything is done half way: You have a fridge but which cannot cool anything very well, you have a nice TV but not a huge selection of channels, the room is nice but there was no curtains on one side, so it was no more dark at 6 AM in the room...

But if you look for a nice place with a pool to entertain the kids I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. it was fine. no complaints about room. Elephant seal beach was down the road and it was so cool. there was a nice beach across the road. Apart from that there wasnt much to do here. morro bay is only a few kilometres up the road and it has more to do there than san simeon...nice view from our room. nice place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ais36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel does exactly what is is intended to do, provide a comfortable stopover point along the Pacific Coast Highway. There isn't much to do in San Simeon itself and you are limited in terms of food options, however, the room was clean and check-in was smooth. Nothing special but a place to get some shut eye on route to another location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn San Simeon

Property: Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Address: 9450 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtesy Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing