We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the 50 bucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth the 50 bucks”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hello folks, just a few words of my thoughts. I came here in December for a few days and I'm here again in Feb. This places is not like what people tend to make it out to be with the reviews. We like it here because the of price, indoor pool and staff are honest. I asked about things to make my stay better, they helped. It's nothing to write home about, and yes you'll find folks to pick it apart I'm sure. It's clean, quiet, safe and affordable most of all. One may go and can pay $100 a night and get better but some folks rather not. Complaining about this place is pointless unless you did have a problem. I asked twice about certain things, staff were right on it, what more can be done. I really like this area, there is so much to explore, really nice sites and friendly folks. Coming here to this place to rest afterward has met my needs. I came here for the area not the looks of this place. I have asked for the same room as last because of the bed and in all my nights away from home, this one is the best. These people seem to care here and will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable, that's all one can ask for the rest is up to you. I thank all the folks here and will plan returning again soon, have fun in life folks, take care.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oscar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    168
    170
    64
    45
See reviews for
183
166
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We came to the COURTESY INN because 1 of our friends recommend this place .
We are a family of 5 so we had to ask for a large room and they gave us the family room with 3 beds for a good price , the staff are very helpful and the rooms are very clean.
My kids enjoy that large indoor pool they have, we recommend this place and will be back.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer198624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Desk person appeared confused on check in, even with my reservation info. 1st room smelled like a wet dog, even though they had the window open. Next room was better smelling, but neither was the king bedroom I reserved, although desk did seem to care. Pool OK, nice hot tub. Advertised an American breakfast (?), but only had coffee. No one spoke English when asking about the "breakfast". Dirty, old, & outdated.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMOTHY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

San Marcos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

In need of major repairs and upgrades. You could hear the room heater in the next building. They put a portable electric heater in the room to take it's place. Electrical outlets ready to fall out of the wall. Warm water (no hot) takes 10 mins. to get in a town that has very serious water supply issues. The staff is helpful in trying to resolve things but are limited since the owners have not kept up on the miantenance. It is very close to the area's major attractions. Advertises an American breakfast. All machines broken except 1 coffee dispenser. Breakfast is next door at another property and costs $6 extra.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwahnee, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We found the Courtesy Inn to be of excellant value and we really enjoyed our stay as a result.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor facing the Ocean and that afforded just a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent the night in San Simeon before going to Hearst Castle. It was really cheap, only $69 for 3 people for the night; however, obviously at $69 you are not going to be staying at a five star hotel. It was very quiet, safe, and simple. There is a coffee maker and fridge in the room, very close to Hearst Castle (5 mins), across the street from the beach, easily accessible from Hwy 1, and close to Cambria, where there is a wider variety of food options to choose from than San Simeon. Beware - the wifi is very unreliable, there are only about 10 channels on the TV and the continental breakfast is a lie, you have to buy a voucher for the bar & grill next door. Also, our toilet was clogged, but when we called maintenance they came right away. If you want something nicer, I would stay at Sands by the Sea or the Express, but if you are looking for cheap, safe, and simple, then this is a great option.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alextraveler1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for our visit to the hearst castle. If you are planning to stay more then one night i wont recommend this place or if you crave for high end features :). We booked king bed non smoking room. The room size is decent with fridge, microwave. the rest room of the room was not what we expected but still was usable but surely take your own towels, looks like they took one towel and cut it in two to make two towels :). The overall room was clean and bed was bug free so that was a huge plus. There is a grocery store just next to the hotel so you can buy water and frozen food and it remains open till 10pm. There are many hotels in the this line and all are mostly same unless you stay on the other side of the road in BestWestern Inn. Food shouldn't be issue as there are many breakfast/lunch/dinner places near by (walking distance). you can just walk across the road to see the beautiful san simeon beach:). So in all we were ok crashing for the night as we checked out in the morning to drive for hearst castle. Enjoy the stay for night crashing ..else surely book some better options:)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_4m_Krypton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn San Simeon

Property: Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Address: 9450 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtesy Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing