We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Cavalier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, SC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved the Cavalier”
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Excellent hotel for the money. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room (254) was on the second floor and had an ocean view as we had requested. The room was very clean and smoke free as requested. The fireplace was a nice touch which we enjoyed after dinner. The bed was very comfortable with great pillows and nice linens. The bathroom was very nice with tub/shower and toilet in separate room from sink and vanity. Bathroom ammenities - soap, shampoo, etc. were very nice. There was the usual coffee maker with coffee and assorted teas. Decor of the room was very nice and tasteful. In my opinion a mirror behind the coffee maker/bar area would have added to the look. The view from our room was very nice. We could see the ocean and the chimineas which guests could gather around after dinner. We did not do this as the indoor fireplace and bed were much more appealing to us. We had dinner in the Cavalier restuarant. My husband had the seafood medley with (not real) scallops and shrimp (overcooked). I had the snapper with salsa and cheese which was fair. I heartily recommend the crab cakes with chipotle sauce as an appetizer. They were outstanding. The service was very good and friendly.
We also had breakfast in the Cavalier. My husband had the breakfast sandwich (fruit cup included) which he said was excellent. I had the Senior Lite eggs and ham with fruit cup
and toast. The fruit cup was excellent. The eggs were a little overcooked. Great OJ. Service was excellent. All in all we were very pleased with our stay at the Cavlier.

  • Liked — Very comfortable and clean with a great view.
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twotravelersAikenSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    825
    219
    81
    26
See reviews for
640
1,521
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

This Best Western is in an excellent location along the coast of CA, and just down the road from the Hearst Castle. The hotel is clumped among a bunch of other hotels in an otherwise fairly sparse stretch of coast. There isn't exactly a fine beach near the hotel, but there are some amazing coastal views. Our family had a great two-room unit that made up for it's rather tight space with cleanliness. It's not an extravagant hotel - the decor is average - but the space feels clean and well-kept. The staff (particularly at the front desk) was extremely friendly. The hotel had three separate spots along the water where they light fires at night (great for marshmallow roasting). We had no problems during our stay and I would have liked to stay longer! There is a near-by town by the name of Cambria that was very nice. It was a good size, had a great look, and was fun to puruse. Great spot.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boydigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in June, 2007. We had a family suite-so one big room with two double beds, and then an additional side room with a double bed. The rooms were nice sized and clean. The staff was very friendly. Each night, the hotel lights fires at pits on the beach. If you're driving in from somewhere, I'd recommend bringing some marshmallows and sticks to make smores. We were able to find some marshmallows at a local store in Cambria (about 5 minutes away) and some hot dog sticks at a gas station. Many other people were making smores as well. This was a nice feature of the hotel.
The Internet wireless connection was a little touch and go, so that was a drawback. Also, no breakfast included. However, the location was great, right on the beach, and the rooms were nice. We'd definitely stay here again.
The main things to do in this area are:
1. Hearst Castle
2. The elephant seals (don't miss this..look it up on here for more info)
3. Nit Wit Ridge--a cute road side attraction. You can find more info on this online too.

  • Liked — Great location, fire pits
  • Disliked — Keep in mind that this area of California can be cold even in summer! We wore 3 layers of clothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitties102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Great ocean side location and first class hotel and restaurent. Very convenient for Hearst Castle and midway SF/LA. Pay the extra for the ocean front rooms.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank StephenWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

After reading the reviews of the motel on TripAdvisor, we decided to book a night. The location is GREAT! Right on the beach! One thing I was worried about was not being able to sleep due to the roar of the ocean but with the windows closed, you couldn't hear a thing :-).

We were able to check in early & our "special" requests were filled w/o a problem.

This property offers 2 pools, hot tub, gym, laundry & what we enjoyed
most of all, the fire pits. They light them around 7:30 pm and let them burn 'til after about 11 pm or so. Sitting around the fire watching the sun go down was beautiful! We went back to the fire pits
later in the evening & had them to ourselves. No one was to be found outside after 10 pm LOL.

Our king size bed was SO COMFORTABLE! I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. The carpets were clean, the whole room was very clean. No bed bugs ;-). They provided a refrigerator & mini bar. All
the furniture looked pretty new. No weird smells in the room. The bathroom (toilet & shower area) were a bit small in our room but I'm sure they're much larger in the suites. The sink area was a decent size though, plenty of room for just two. They also provided a safe, ironing board, coffee / tea, hair dryer & wonderful Neutrogena soaps,
shampoos & lotion.

We got a GREAT DEAL on our room & had a wonderful view. All rooms have a view, which is nice :-). I peeked into other rooms and saw fireplaces too. We didn't have that but that was fine, no big deal.

We ate at the Cavalier restaurant right on the property for breakfast
the following morning. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was great & the prices were very reasonable. Our only little complaint was that there was lipstick on my boyfriends glass (yuck) when he ordered milk but our server apologized several times and brought him a fresh glass. We had also had some slices of pie the night before just for dessert. Their other desserts might be more tasty but I'd stay away from the pies.

We're definitely returning soon...it was a great stay!

  • Liked — Location & price.
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all great!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

The Best Western Cavalier was my favorite hotel on a month long tour of Nevada, California, and Oregon. We booked an ocean view room and when we got there the room was as advertised. The view was great and the balcony a perfect place to view the Pacific Ocean. Everything in the room was nice with a fireplace, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and all the essentials. Parking was right near our room and access to the beach was very close. At night they light up bonfires near the beach so even if it is cool you can relax to a beautiful sunset. The restaurant next to the hotel serves good food at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location on beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NCstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

I really wasnt sure which hotel to stay at in this area but after staying at the best western I knew we made the right choice.
I did have a look around at the other hotels just out of interest but we chose the best.
It is a motel style where you pull your car up right outside your door. Its decorated in a classic style not modern but very clean.
The room we had, had a fire and sitting area and a view of the beach.
We travelled for two months round Europe/America and I must say there was something about this place that stands out in the memory. It just had a great feeling about it. From the bon fires at night to spotting dolphins in the morning.
I would have no hesitation at staying here again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank MissTravelAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing