We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, wonderful staff & CLEAN!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2007

After reading the reviews of the motel on TripAdvisor, we decided to book a night. The location is GREAT! Right on the beach! One thing I was worried about was not being able to sleep due to the roar of the ocean but with the windows closed, you couldn't hear a thing :-).

We were able to check in early & our "special" requests were filled w/o a problem.

This property offers 2 pools, hot tub, gym, laundry & what we enjoyed
most of all, the fire pits. They light them around 7:30 pm and let them burn 'til after about 11 pm or so. Sitting around the fire watching the sun go down was beautiful! We went back to the fire pits
later in the evening & had them to ourselves. No one was to be found outside after 10 pm LOL.

Our king size bed was SO COMFORTABLE! I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. The carpets were clean, the whole room was very clean. No bed bugs ;-). They provided a refrigerator & mini bar. All
the furniture looked pretty new. No weird smells in the room. The bathroom (toilet & shower area) were a bit small in our room but I'm sure they're much larger in the suites. The sink area was a decent size though, plenty of room for just two. They also provided a safe, ironing board, coffee / tea, hair dryer & wonderful Neutrogena soaps,
shampoos & lotion.

We got a GREAT DEAL on our room & had a wonderful view. All rooms have a view, which is nice :-). I peeked into other rooms and saw fireplaces too. We didn't have that but that was fine, no big deal.

We ate at the Cavalier restaurant right on the property for breakfast
the following morning. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was great & the prices were very reasonable. Our only little complaint was that there was lipstick on my boyfriends glass (yuck) when he ordered milk but our server apologized several times and brought him a fresh glass. We had also had some slices of pie the night before just for dessert. Their other desserts might be more tasty but I'd stay away from the pies.

We're definitely returning soon...it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LuvsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,461 - 2,467 of 2,803 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2007

The Best Western Cavalier was my favorite hotel on a month long tour of Nevada, California, and Oregon. We booked an ocean view room and when we got there the room was as advertised. The view was great and the balcony a perfect place to view the Pacific Ocean. Everything in the room was nice with a fireplace, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and all the essentials. Parking was right near our room and access to the beach was very close. At night they light up bonfires near the beach so even if it is cool you can relax to a beautiful sunset. The restaurant next to the hotel serves good food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NCstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

I really wasnt sure which hotel to stay at in this area but after staying at the best western I knew we made the right choice.
I did have a look around at the other hotels just out of interest but we chose the best.
It is a motel style where you pull your car up right outside your door. Its decorated in a classic style not modern but very clean.
The room we had, had a fire and sitting area and a view of the beach.
We travelled for two months round Europe/America and I must say there was something about this place that stands out in the memory. It just had a great feeling about it. From the bon fires at night to spotting dolphins in the morning.
I would have no hesitation at staying here again.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank MissTravelAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

One of the best things about a vacation is when you discover your sight-unseen hotel is even better than you expected. That's the feeling we got when we got to the Best Western Cavalier in San Simeon.

What looks like a simple roadside hotel ended up being a lot more. Check-in was very quick and the front desk staff was extremely friendly, making us feel welcome right from the very start. Our hotel room was directly across from the lobby and was exceptional. Definitely larger than most hotel rooms, it looked practically brand-new, everything from the furniture to the walls and carpeting. A nice touch was solid oak molding around all the doors and windows and along the bottoms and tops of the walls. The nicest perk of all was the fireplace in the corner of the room that we left burning as we fell asleep. It was a very classy touch, and something I've never seen in a hotel room before.

The group of family/friends we were traveling with all opted to stay at the Orchard Inn down the block, claiming it looked like a great place to spend the night. Despite having spent almost twice what we spent on the Best Western, they were disappointed with their rooms once they saw ours. That was enough for me to be convinced that we got a terrific deal.

San Simeon is a quaint place to spend a night before or after dropping by Hearst Castle, and you couldn't find a better place than the Best Western Cavalier.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wildwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

This is a great motel, can not say enough about our wonderfull stay at the cavalier resort. Very well run from a top notch staff that really cares about your stay to very well appointed rooms that are within a yards of the waves. Will be back next month and every chance we can!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank agilitydoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

I was initially apprehensive about staying here (my family can be a bit picky), but we really enjoyed the experience. The location is fantastic--beautiful scenery, great beach, close to Hearst castle, whales, and seals. We found the employees to be extremely helpful. The restaurant was very good. I think knowing what to expect is key--don't arrive expecting the luxury of the Ritz.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We stayed here one Sunday night on our way to Hearst Castle. This is basically a well-kept older motor inn with outdoor corridors and sometimes intrusive outdoor noise. We had two queen beds which totally filled the room besides the small table with 2 chairs by the window. Not much room for a family of four to move around. The room was definitely clean and comfortably decorated. For the rate, I wish they would have included some type of Continental Breakfast as you are not close to anything , but their restaurant. We ordered a pizza from the next town and tried to get plates from the office. They told us to call room service, but we declined as were worried about a charge. The firepits near the water are a great idea, but they should have a sign discouraging saving of chairs. Families had placed all types of items on the chairs to save them until they were ready to come out. We were unable to use the fitness center as the opening hours were much later that most hotels - should open earlier. It is nice that it is on the water, but you could also walk across the street from the other hotels and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family4MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,028 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $156 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing