We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
southern california
1 review
“Would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

I stayed here for a get-away weekend, and I can't tell you how pleased I was by my room and the amenities. Rooms were super clean and very well stocked. The hotel staff will light a fire for you on the beach, overlooking the ocean, and it was just wonderful. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco62059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    779
    202
    78
    20
See reviews for
599
1,430
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

My brother and I stayed only for 2 nights as part of a motocycle tour of this area of the central coast. I simply have to bring my wife back to this hotel. The location is beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The price is right for being right on the beach. We arrived back from a long day's ride to find campfires on the beach. We sat out and warmed ourselves by the fire under a full moon. Too bad we didn't bring along some marshmallows! We were sad to leave so soon...but we'll be back.

As an aside, I left a book on the nightstand. When I called to inquire, the staff was happy to ship it to me. These folks are great.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvRider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at the Best Western Cavalier over the Labor Day weekend. Check-in was fast and friendly. We chose a room facing the ocean and it was well worth the extra money. This hotel is all about the amazing oceanside location. Each ocean facing room had either a little porch or balcony equipped with table and chairs perfect for relaxing and enjoying the gorgeous view. The area feels private and safe enough that we were comfortable keeping the sliding doors open to hear and smell the ocean late into the night. The hotel also provides binoculars in the room with which you can spot sea lions and birds, and a nice "welcome book" of information about the area's sights and dining options. Our room also had a fireplace and coffee/tea making facilities. As we threw open the sliding glass doors and started to get settled into the room, I noticed there were quite a few dogs staying at the hotel. I am a dog lover but severely allergic to the dander. Before we got completely unpacked, I thought I'd ask if there were pet-free rooms set aside for people with allergies. The man at the desk said that there were not, but that each room was thoroughly cleaned and that housekeeping could bring in an ionizer if I began to have trouble breathing. I'm pleased to report that I had absolutely no allergic or asthmatic symptoms, which is a real testament to their housekeeping. I had the added benefit of being able to watch all the joyful "dog guests" frolicking on the beach! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, though basic, was fine and spotlessly clean. The pool and whirlpool area faced the ocean, and was well kept. There is a small gym, but was empty during my stay as it seemed all the guests opted for beach walking . The firepits were lighted every night and seemed to be a gathering place for the guests to meet and talk over their travels. The hotel is located very near Hearst Castle. There are a couple of restaurants walking distance (we enjoyed the Mexican restaurant just steps down the road), and Cambria is a short drive away. We tried the hotel restaurant for breakfast and would not recommend it. Granted, it was Labor Day weekend and it was very crowded, so the staff were rushed and stressed. I had tepid oatmeal and my husband's veggie omelete contained only caulifower and broccoli. Yes, they are vegetables....but were not prepared with any regard to flavor. The guests who had the pancakes or French toast on the table seemed the happiest. I would advise driving into Cambria for breakfast if it's on your way. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to this area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElyseAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed 2 nights on our road trip from Palm Springs to San Francisco. Very friendly staff, excellent peaceful location, fantastic ocean views for wildlife spotting , good comfortable room, first class location for Hearst Castle, just 5 mins drive away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaclovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We chose this place based on Trip Advisor reviews on our Pacific Coast road trip. We stopped here with a visit to Hearst Castle planned for the next day. We loved this place. Had a beach front room with patio. The fireplace, binnoculars for watching the sea life, the ocean side bonfires were all special touches. Our room was large and very clean. The restaurant was nothing fancy but great food and drinks and prices. The staff was most helpful and accomodated our request for a 2nd night stay because we loved this place so much. They had information about the tides for us "midwesterners" and good advice about other spots to eat and visit. On our 2nd day we picked up picnic lunches at the restaurant, walked the beach and enjoyed the gorgeous landscape. This is a must stay place on a Pacific road trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWTravelerMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed here for one night with a group of 15 people travelling together on a Pacific Coast Road trip. Based on our research, including feedback from Trip Advisor, we had arranged for a group booking for 8 rooms well in advance of our stay. Upon our arrival, all of the reservations were in order, and check in was efficient and quick, even though we all arrived at the same time. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were very clean and spacious, and the hotel overall was very clean and well maintained. We had an oceanfront room with a beautiful view at sunset. The fireplace was a nice touch! The breakfast service at the adjoining restaurant was very good.
Everyone in our group was very pleased with our stay here, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramount Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

We were on our way back home from San Francisco, when we saw how beauitful San Simeon was, and came across Best Western Cavalier. We decided to stop to see if any rooms were open, and let me say it was a friday afternoon and we had a dog. To our suprise, they did and were dog friendly. We ended up extending our vacation for a few more days and enjoying the beach fires, w/marshmellows, and sunsets. What a topper on our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirittouched1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing