We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were we at a different hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I read all the (great) reviews of this hotel and decided to stay here. We were incredibly disappointed. Our room absolutely was NOT renovated; fireplace was very odd; bathroom light/fan was so noisy that I woke my husband up in the middle of the night when I put it on; and I had trouble locking the windows. More important, I had called the hotel before booking and asked specifically if they had an elevator since we were carrying such large, heavy luggage and really didn't want to hassle with a bunch of stairs. I was told there was an elevator and decided to book there, but when we were shown our room it certainly did NOT have an elevator. Food was OK in the restaurant; service is good; location on the beach is lovely and we did see a wonderful sunset although that was not best western's creation. We did stop at Nepenthe Restaurant on the way to San Francisco afterwards. Wow! the food, store, service & view there all were 5 stars. Don't miss that opportunity but get there when it opens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,443 - 1,449 of 2,902 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

Although I had called and confirmed there was an elevator, there was no elevator on the premises and we had very heavy bags. Not happy. Room had a nice ocean view but an extraordinarily noisy light/fan in the bathroom; odd "radiant" heat; a very strange fireplace, and furniture was old and worn and bed kind of hard. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. I don't understand the very positive yelp reports & relied on that. Wow! I felt that we were in another hotel. Hearst castle was nearby and that was very worthwhile. Our next stop was Nepenthe Restaurant on the way to San Fran and that was outstanding and worth the stop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and i showed up a bit late in the evening, and we were SO sad that we were only there for the night before heading off again because the hotel was just so nice. The on-site restaurant was really nice, the pools looked great but it was a tad too chilly to go. Service was great, the whole location was clean and we LOVED the indoor fireplace. Especially that we could open up the doors and walk out to the beach (which we did). Nice king size bed and spacious bathroom. Additionally, I've never seen so many "just in case you forgot something" things available in a hotel before. All in all, highly recommended and if I get the chance to go back I would certainly go there!!

Room Tip: Try and get the suites with the fireplaces in them, or where they back out to the ocean as there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Recent room renovations and increasingly refined cooking at the on-site restaurant still make this place the place to stay when visiting Cambria and San Simeon. The rooms are clean, neat, well furnished and the Front a desk to me is efficient and helpful. Select a room in King's Row or the oceanfront building. You won't regret it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Abbadiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great place to stay if you are looking for clean, friendly, value on the beach property. Grab a cocktail from the mini bar and head to the beach for a romantic stroll. Finish the night around the fire pit. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Possibly the most comprehensively equipped room I've ever seen. We were right on the beach with an open fire ready laid, well stocked mini bar, plenty of storage, spacious room, lots of towels, good bathroom. Bit well worn in places and we had a room with an adjoining door that did not keep out the sound of our neighbours. Also we were ground floor and the upstairs neighbour padding around was noticeable. Bed OK but not brilliant. Attached restaurant encapsulated the most average of experiences. (A medium steak was still breathing). BUT the location and view - we saw whales drifting past from our window, the sound of the ocean, the elephant seal beach just up the coast - just fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, no need to have the expensive beachfront rooms since the block set back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is the closest hotel to Hearst Castle. The rooms are immaculate. The bathroom is large. We had 3 grown women (3 generations) and there was plenty of space for all of our toiletries. They even have a wonderful toiletry gift basket in case you have forgotten anything at all. Their restaurant serves great tasting food at reasonable rates We ate 3 of our 4 meals here.You can even get coffee to go to take to the beach. Beach is an easy walk from your door. They post low tides so that you can visit the nearby tidepools.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
639 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,990 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,198 reviews
3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $149 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, bedfinder AG, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing