We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I love this place. It is everything in on ocean stay you may want. You can walk the sandy beach just down a few stairs or stay up on the hill and walk on the paths. There are bench to seat and watch the sea. There are two restaurants to walk to. The room, if you stay in it, is nice and comfy. Take some mashmellows they light fires in at least 3 outdoor fire places. This is my 2nd time in this area I will stay at this place again they know how to take care of you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 573sherryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,901 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Chose to stay at this hotel as it was walking distance to town. The staff in the evening were wonderful and extremely helpful. The morning clerk was another story. He was abrupt at best and was definitely angry about something. On the plus side, the complimentary morning breakfast was great including both hot and cold items. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank IceMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

On our arrival at check in we where asked to sign a disclaimer which stated there was products that could cause cancer and we would not sue at a later date instant turn off , when we got to our room the window was dingy on opening the door there was a smell that was so over powering it smelt like the toilet , needless to say we did not even bother staying at this hotel

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank fwoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On our 15 day vacation every Best Western Plus we stayed in provided nice complimentary breakfasts but not this place. In addition to being overly pricey to stay here the room and the bath were crowded compared to other Plus hotels e stayed in. The on-site restaurant was super expensive so don't plan on eating there unless you want to fork out a lot of extra money. The location is ideal but for us it was just a bed to sleep in so we could be on the road the next morning. I wouldn't stay there again unless I had to because there are several other hotels in the same location that would have been a better choice.

Room Tip: If you choose a room that "has a view" it is costly - over $300. Our room didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our Central Coast trip for Spring Break. I booked it because of the reviews, the fact that it is oceanfront and its proximity to Hearst Castle. We received a second floor room in the main building attached to the lobby/ registration desk. It was not an ocean front room, but from the sitting area window we had a slight glimpse of the sea.

Rooms were a bit tired looking and dim. The furnishings and carpeting could use some updating. It was not terrible, but not the greatest Best Western Plus property I have stayed at. It is your traditional motor inn/ motel set up with outdoor hallway entries. My chief complaint was the noise you can hear from other guests running or walking loudly in the outside corridors. The walls are paper thin and every time someone closed (or slammed) their door, we felt it. This was on the second floor-- not sure how the folks on the ground level felt. For the Plus designation, I expected more: perhaps a mini fridge that was cold and had room to actually store things instead of mini bar items, a microwave maybe and a simple included breakfast like most other properties.

We ate breakfast one morning at the onsite restaurant and it was just ok. Not better than your average IHOP or Denny's. I purchased milk for my kids there in the evening and was charged $2.50 for a plastic kid cups worth. Maybe I should have gone across the street to the mini mart, but again, the mini bar fridge left no room for storage.

On the positive, the location is good. Hearst Castle and Cambria are a few minutes away. The beach in front of the property is isolated and pretty for strolling. Too many sand flies to sit and bask. The hotel does provide generous toiletries such as make-up remover towelettes, feet wipes, sewing kits, etc. which is rare these days in hotels. There is a very large in-room safe which is convenient for large cameras and laptops. Our room had a Keurig with an ample supply of pods which was a nice touch. If I am back in these parts, I might try and stay up the street in Moonstone Beach in Cambria.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nice location. Very clean. Pleasant staff. Checkout time is 12:00 which is nice. We have stayed at this location quite a few times and recommend it. Very quiet and peaceful. The proximity to the ocean and beach is wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

nice property good location rooms are very small, clean and on the beach.
it isn't the cheapest place and would have expected a little more for the price
the room has a fridge but its a minibar that is full, locked and expensive, no breakfast, the onsite restaurant is expensive (4$ for a small box of cereal??) and was told for dinner they are full with a large group better off driving to town to look for a place.

as i said, overall ok, just expected more for my near 200 bucks...... maybe he problem is with me for having high expectations....

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank eagle132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
638 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,986 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,198 reviews
3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $149 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing