We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay on the coast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay on the coast.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ocean front rooms are by far the best with patios on the ground floor, and decks on the second floor. Rooms are large with fireplaces, with Soundless Radiant Heat, so no fan noise, etc. to interfere with the wonderful ocean sounds. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, with good local wine list. Nice size selection at fair prices, with a knowledgeable Sommelier. Friendly and competent staff.
A very comfortable and welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are by far the best. Ground floor rooms have patios, and second floor have decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expressolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    831
    222
    82
    28
See reviews for
643
1,542
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Second floor balcony had an unrestricted view of the ocean. Slept with the door open to the sound of the waves crashing and the ocean breeze. Very peaceful stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Very soft and comfortable beds. Very firm and uncomfortable pillows. Bring your own if you can.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Iesha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Ca., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

professional staff Very clean & beautiful view of the Pacific Coast. so much activity to chose from when visiting the region. Surfing, tide pools, seal beach, horse back riding, Hearst Castle, wine tasting and my favorite driving up Highway 1 to Big Sur. the giant redwoods are a wonder of nature. the mountain hiking trails are relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We actually stayed here in June 2012, so some time back, but I remember it being wonderful. Location was great, half way between San Fran and LA made it for a great break spot on our Highway 1 drive. And it being so close to Hearst Castle made it even better.

We had a massive, clean room with a fireplace looking out on the ocean, it was lovely with a huge comfy bed and all mod cons.

Breakfast room service was great, staff friendly and helpful but the best was the view of the sunrise we enjoyed from our private balcony.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Wanted to stay here longer. It was a beautiful day and the sight and sound of the waves were so calming. Our pet friendly room was real fireplace and small patio with comfortable environmentally friendly patio furniture where one could soak up the sun while watching the waves was just a delightful unplanned experience. Off season and very quiet, we had unseasonably sunny warm beautiful weather that just added that extra special something to the pleasant ambience of the resort. Very close to San Simeon State Park.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great location to restaurants, ocean, elephant seals and hiking. The hotel has had some upgrades and is a nice place for a few nights at a reasonable price. If the bed had been more comfortable it would have been perfect. This was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever experienced. I am curious why the beds were not upgraded along with the other amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank chendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We planned to stay for just 1 night but decided to extend for another, simply because of the awesome location and price of the room. Can't go wrong with the view and sound of the ocean, clean and spacious room, and a fireplace at that!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Anne A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing