We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Our Favorite Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I have been coming here for years and we love it! It's situated right on the edge of a bluff, overlooking the Pacific. You get to enjoy gorgeous sunsets and if you leave your sliding door open, you can fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves. The rooms are large and very clean and well-decorated. Most have a balcony or patio and a warm romantic fireplace. They also provide binoculars in each room! This trip we were able to see several migrating gray whales as they passed by. We love staying here because we are close to Cambria, Hearst Castle and the elephant seal colony which draws us up every January to watch the babies being born. The Cavalier is simply the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    825
    219
    81
    26
See reviews for
640
1,522
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here just 1 evening, would have liked to stay more! The coolest part about this place was the fire-pits right off the beach, steps away from the room. The room itself seemed clean and comfortable. Things were a tad dated, but still decent. Also gotta give them props on the mini-bar in the room. The had a big selection at comparably great prices. I think I paid $2 for 1 of those mini liquor bottles. Beers were like $3-$4.

Helpful staff as well, we left something there and they mailed it back to us. Very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel provides a beautiful view of the central coast and it makes you feel like you are at home. The staff from the top to the bottom are awesome and the rooms make you feel special. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We go up to San Simeon once or twice a year and this is the best place to stay. We stayed in an oceanfront room that was very relaxing. The bed was so comfy it was hard to get up. We go there to see the elephant seals during different seasons each year so we are up early. The room has 2 oversized chairs and table right inside the sliding glass door to watch the ocean and 2 more chairs outside on the deck that is a great place to eat your breakfast and lunch (which we bring for our weekend trips). You can see whales, otters, seals, and lots of birds while sitting and relaxing. Doesn't get much better! The staff was really friendly and the extra amenities impressed my wife. All around great hotel in great area. The safe in the room was huge too if you need that space. The only imperfection was the super slow wifi and the fan in the bathroom was insanely loud so we didn't use it. Also, I think dogs are allowed in all rooms - not just designated rooms - I'd rather not stay in a room knowing there were dogs since who knows what they did in the room or where they were / what they were on. There should be animal-free rooms. If these things were fixed we could live there!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a very lovely place to stay after touring Hearst Castle and the seal rookery. The beds were comfortable and the place is situated in a nice area to view the magnificent coastline. The heaters situated on the beach was a great idea and very popular amongst the hotel guests so as a tip get in early. I must mention the restuarant because it was first class. The food was delicious and wonderful service. We had breakfast booked with our accommodation and with the voucher you can choose the meal of your choice. I had the waffles and they are were made to perfection..and so huge! Definitely stay at this place..it is very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTourist_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times and love the location with its wonderful ocean front views and beach access. The hotel itself is very pleasant and the rooms range from quite luxurious to ordinary business style, depending on the view and price. Everything is clean and in working order, and the beds are very comfortable. The TV reception is marginal, but there is a good selection of stations and free wireless internet. My only complaint about my most recent stay, in January 2014, is that the restaurant on site serves very poor quality food and has exceedingly slow service. I had to eat four meals there for business reasons and two of those meals were inedible. The fish and crab were mushy and tasteless and the accompanying vegetables were completely bland. Even the tea was sour tasting and undrinkable. To top things off, the prices are high and the service is very slow. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is a shame that such a lovely hotel is paired with such a dreadful restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Fireplaces and firepits overlooking the ocean, dogs welcome. Met wonderful travellers while enjoying the evening firepits. Comfy and clean, staff is pleasant and helpful. Restaurant has variety of items including Vegetarian choices

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing