We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Picture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Perfect Picture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The perfect picture is a gorgeous view of the Pacific Ocean either from your balcony or through the sliding glass door windows while sitting opposite your wood burning, in room, fireplace. Combine this with a bed that feels like you're sleeping on a cloud, a very large screen TV, a wet bar, a Keurig coffee machine and a shower that feels like a Spring rain. What more could you want? Actually there is more but you can find those out for yourselves!
Very close to the cute little town of Cambria and also Hearst Castle. We make a yearly trip there just to see the Elephant Seals, a not-to-be-missed sight.

Room Tip: Rooms #253 or the one on either a side of it Beautiful ocean view...or...Room 277 in a separate but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eastern12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    780
    202
    78
    20
See reviews for
601
1,430
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. Fireplaces, binoculars, attentive staff. Only problem was that the computer available for guests desperately needs to be replaced. It was totally unusable. I had my laptop with me, but I needed to print something and was unable to do so because it was so bad. Great location, Kona at check-in was very helpful and friendly. The attached restaurant was quite good, with great service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayaker1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
..., United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

So this small town is about 2 miles from the visitors center at Hearst Castle. The first time I came I stayed at the place literally across the street because it was cheap. It was terrible. This Best Western is definitely a better option. The room was clean. They had all sorts of little toiletries I didn't find at other hotels like make up remover pads and shower cap. Yes, you can hear the ocean and the birds. I don't see why people are complaining about this. The hotel is literally next to the ocean, and I personally found the waves soothing. They had bonfires outside near the shore at night which is neat. And you can really see the stars because of lack of city lights. Didn't really deal with and staff besides check in, so I couldn't vouch for or against them. Hence the average rating. Biggest gripe is the bathroom and especially when you are in the show, is LOUD.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We've stayed here for over 30 years and just keep coming back. Always excellent customer service and accomodations. Close to Hearst Castle, San Simeon State Beach and the quaint town of Cambria. Great copulples get-a-way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso robles, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed everything about this property. So many nice touches that make you feel more than at home. I recommend paying for the ocean front room. They are off from the traffic, RIGHT on the beach! Rocking chairs, binoculars, robes......again so many nice touches. Staff was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Brandee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've been coming here for years and it remains one of the best values in the Cambria/San Simeon area. Moonstone Beach, where all the hotels are hundreds more a night is just two miles to the south. But those hotels are all on the others side of Moonstone Beach Drive. By contrast the Cavalier has its own private beach which many of the room overlook. You can pay a bit more for one of these or $100 bucks for one of the totally cool rooms in the lobby building many of which have partial views. Either way you have access to the beach which is always deserted and the fire rings which they light every night. Eating options are more limited in town, but the upside is at these prices you can easily spring for a second room for the kids. If you go, look for us -- we'll be the family having dinner at one of the overpriced, crowded B and B's on Moonstone Beach looking very smug.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of Best Western hotels, and don't get me wrong- they're very nice for the cost. However, they tend to be your mid-range hotels, similar to Comfort Inn and Travelodge- not something you'd really write home about. This one is different- it's a whole step above any other I've seen.

The location is great- right by the ocean with the rocky cliffs a short stroll away. We had an ocean view and the vista was great, and it's hard to beat the sound of crashing surf to put you to sleep. It's also the closest place to stay as far as Hearst Castle goes, which is probably why you'd be there to begin with. The property is very well laid-out, modernized with good insulation and nice big rooms, and is well maintained. Each room has a little fireplace and you can start a fire yourself (wood and starter included). I was a bit hesitant to do this as I'd never done it before in a hotel- only outdoors in a firepit while camping, but it worked great and was a nice comforting touch.

The rooms have most conveniences including a minibar (not free), coffee machine, TV, outside sink, and a sitting area. It was quite clean in general, but the carpets were a bit stained. The one big beef I had as far as rooms/services went was the wifi, which was probably the slowest I've seen anywhere. The signal was strong but It took a pretty long time just to check my email, and this is compounded by the fact that I had no cell service in the whole area.

There's an outdoor pool, and they light lamps on the cliff at night if you want to walk outside. It was pretty cold though, so we didn't take advantage of either of these.

There's a attached restaurant which is open pretty late and probably the most convenient dining spot unless you want to drive to Cambria. It was pretty typical for a hotel restaurant, though the service was good.

Overall, it was worth the cost- the view and location alone do that. If we're visiting the Castle again in the future, we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Can't beat the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yu-Jin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing