We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Silver Surf Motel(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,961)
Filter reviews
2,961 results
Traveler rating
1,693
893
248
94
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,693
893
248
94
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontrocking chairsoceanfront roomwood burning fireplacehearst castleroom servicemini bareach eveningkeurig coffee makeron site restaurantwatch the sunsetelephant sealsstayed longerthe pacific oceanhear the wavescentral coastsecond floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,666 - 1,671 of 2,961 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

So this small town is about 2 miles from the visitors center at Hearst Castle. The first time I came I stayed at the place literally across the street because it was cheap. It was terrible. This Best Western is definitely a better option. The room was clean. They had all sorts of little toiletries I didn't find at other hotels like make up remover pads and shower cap. Yes, you can hear the ocean and the birds. I don't see why people are complaining about this. The hotel is literally next to the ocean, and I personally found the waves soothing. They had bonfires outside near the shore at night which is neat. And you can really see the stars because of lack of city lights. Didn't really deal with and staff besides check in, so I couldn't vouch for or against them. Hence the average rating. Biggest gripe is the bathroom and especially when you are in the show, is LOUD.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We've stayed here for over 30 years and just keep coming back. Always excellent customer service and accomodations. Close to Hearst Castle, San Simeon State Beach and the quaint town of Cambria. Great copulples get-a-way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed everything about this property. So many nice touches that make you feel more than at home. I recommend paying for the ocean front room. They are off from the traffic, RIGHT on the beach! Rocking chairs, binoculars, robes......again so many nice touches. Staff was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Brandee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've been coming here for years and it remains one of the best values in the Cambria/San Simeon area. Moonstone Beach, where all the hotels are hundreds more a night is just two miles to the south. But those hotels are all on the others side of Moonstone Beach Drive. By contrast the Cavalier has its own private beach which many of the room overlook. You can pay a bit more for one of these or $100 bucks for one of the totally cool rooms in the lobby building many of which have partial views. Either way you have access to the beach which is always deserted and the fire rings which they light every night. Eating options are more limited in town, but the upside is at these prices you can easily spring for a second room for the kids. If you go, look for us -- we'll be the family having dinner at one of the overpriced, crowded B and B's on Moonstone Beach looking very smug.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of Best Western hotels, and don't get me wrong- they're very nice for the cost. However, they tend to be your mid-range hotels, similar to Comfort Inn and Travelodge- not something you'd really write home about. This one is different- it's a whole step above any other I've seen.

The location is great- right by the ocean with the rocky cliffs a short stroll away. We had an ocean view and the vista was great, and it's hard to beat the sound of crashing surf to put you to sleep. It's also the closest place to stay as far as Hearst Castle goes, which is probably why you'd be there to begin with. The property is very well laid-out, modernized with good insulation and nice big rooms, and is well maintained. Each room has a little fireplace and you can start a fire yourself (wood and starter included). I was a bit hesitant to do this as I'd never done it before in a hotel- only outdoors in a firepit while camping, but it worked great and was a nice comforting touch.

The rooms have most conveniences including a minibar (not free), coffee machine, TV, outside sink, and a sitting area. It was quite clean in general, but the carpets were a bit stained. The one big beef I had as far as rooms/services went was the wifi, which was probably the slowest I've seen anywhere. The signal was strong but It took a pretty long time just to check my email, and this is compounded by the fact that I had no cell service in the whole area.

There's an outdoor pool, and they light lamps on the cliff at night if you want to walk outside. It was pretty cold though, so we didn't take advantage of either of these.

There's a attached restaurant which is open pretty late and probably the most convenient dining spot unless you want to drive to Cambria. It was pretty typical for a hotel restaurant, though the service was good.

Overall, it was worth the cost- the view and location alone do that. If we're visiting the Castle again in the future, we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Can't beat the ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yu-Jin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews