We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After Las Vegas this is sheer heaven. Peace and quiet. We had an ocean front room with open fire and it was great. The rooms are large and very comfortable and in the evening bonfires are lit on the beach. Chairs are provided so you can just sit around the fire, relax, listen to the ocean and watch the amazing galaxy. Afterwards we would return to our room, light our own fire and enjoy a glass of wine before retiring to bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful and one evening we ate at the restaurant and the food and service was very good.
The location is great as the hotel is directly on the beach and only a few miles from Hearst Castle and the elephant seal colony. We went for a long hike along the coast starting from the elephant seal beach were there are always lots of people. We met hardly any people on our hike but in all the bays along the coast you find lots of elephant seals and the area is idyllic.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,527
    801
    210
    79
    21
See reviews for
615
1,468
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

at night drive to hotel it is nerve racking because so many zig-zag on some parts of highway 1. we finally safely made destination. friendly staff. sit on beach by fire pit and love to listen to sea rushing to shore and watch stars. we should stay more time here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EulessGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio del Mar, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Celebrated my 70th B.d. & 32nd Anniversary. Welcome champagne, and greeting. Rockers on ocean view deck, fireplace, robes, binoculars, A family run jewel on the central coast. Dog friendly w/lots of space to walk & clean up bags provided. Definitely a return trip soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank junglenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Best Western Cavalier is about the best deal going for quality and view. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (recently remodeled) and you can't beat the location and views. It is the only place to stay in San Simeon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brandt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
409 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

It had been over 20 years since my last visit and they are as friendly and accommodating now as they were in the past. I was very impressed to open up the Hotel Guest book and find that the family owned property identified people that have been there for years. Where is this industry to you see people who have been in the same hospitality location for 35+ years. One can tell that the staff family is treated well and it shows. The property is right on the ocean and when you open the sliding doors onto a patio or deck you hear the sound of the ocean. With the fire place in the room you can fall asleep to a burning fire and the sound of the waves. The rooms are well maintained, bed and linen are very comfy and high quality. The rooms are equipped with robes, iron, mini bar as well as guest robes. The room was ocean view with wood burning fireplace and great flat screenTV. This was a birthday visit so when we arrived there was a chilled bottle of bubbly awaiting and not COOKS, thank goodness. In the evening there are fire pits lit where you can sit and enjoy the sound of the ocean. A little bit chilly for me so I could enjoy them from the room and next to my own fire in the fireplace. There is an area of rooms called the Terrace and on my last visit that is where my room was located. They are more expensive, but worth the additional charge to be in a room right over the ocean. Suggest you splurge although this room was also comfy and cozy. There is a main area of the hotel and I am uncertain what view they have but I would suggest at the least requesting Ocean view. My room was overlooking the pool and I noticed that there were chairs to permit disabled access to the pool and the spa. I think that is great and often overlooked. If there is any criticism I have it is the restaurant. The seating is tight, chairs much like office side chairs and not very comfortable. Food was just ok and not inexpensive. There are just too many other choices for dinning although there is room service from the restaurant if you have a late arrival and are pooped.

Room Tip: The Terrace rooms are right over the ocean and worth the splurge. Ocean view rooms are nice as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me as a place to relax and enjoy the scenery, and it was exactly as represented. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make my wife's birthday weekend special. Watching the sunset while gazing at the waves crash against the beach, all from the comfort of my room created an unforgettable memory. Stroll along the hotel property as well as on the beach, as the hotel is right on the waterfront, added to the relaxing weekend. The room was very clean and comfortable. On a brisk fall evening, the fireplace in the room, made the room very cozy. Lots of thought and detail was put into the room to ensure that guest(s) are well taken care of during a stay at the hotel. This is a place that I definetly plan to return to for the tranquility and beauty that is so simply combined during a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A relaxed and peaceful hotel right on the water. Perfect place for an overnight stop-over when driving down the west coast. Friendly staff, large hotel room (we stayed in a king room), free wifi, gym and the fire pits near the water were great to sit at and enjoy a beer while watching the sunrise. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,618 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing