We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best choice for Hearst Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2008

San Simeon doesn't have any top brand hotel chains like Westin, Marriott, Hyatt, and it is all the better for it. What it does have is a long strip of dated-looking motels, all with the same two storey, rooms facing the ocean look. We booked the Cavalier Oceanfront because of the favourable reviews it receives on TA, and they are spot on. Yes, it is a motel, and the decor is quite dark and old fashioned, but spotlessly clean. There are luxury touches you normally only associate with five star hotels like Neutrogena toiletries, and comfy bathrobes.The beds are comfortable with decent cotton sheets, and the views of the ocean with the sound of rolling waves is very relaxing. And we got two interconnecting rooms, just as we requested on line.

The staff are really well trained and genuinely friendly. We had a fairly limited time in which to have breakfast, as we had booked one of the earlier tours at Hearst Castle. We were concerend when it turned out that the breakfast was waitress served and even cereal and juice had to be brought to the table. However in just around half an hour we all had cereals, fruit, toasted bagels, hot chocolates and coffee (family of five) without being rushed.

For a hotel where due to its proximity to Hearst Castle must be mainly handling guests for one or two nights at a time it runs a very professional operation.

And do remember after dinner to walk down to the bluff and sit in front of one of the large braziers. The combination of the smell of burning wood and the ocean is an entoxicating way to end the day.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Irishfamily61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,775)
There are newer reviews for Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,365 - 2,371 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

Our family of 4 just visited the BW Cavalier as part of a two-week California vacation. We stayed here largely because of its proximity to Hearst Castle and good reviews on TA and in Frommer's. We enjoyed our one-night stay. Our triple-queen room (there was a third queen in a separate bedroom, which thrilled our teenage daughter) was clean and provided lots of space. (We would have paid extra for an oceanfront room, but each has only a king-size bed.) Check-in and check-out were easy and fast, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We had a very good, reasonably-priced breakfast at the hotel restaurant before leaving for Hearst Castle, which, as promised, was only 10 minutes away. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but enjoyed dinner and shopping in nearby Cambria, a very pleasant town just 10 minutes south. (The hotel restaurant might be great for dinner, but if you like exploring and getting off the hotel property, I recommend Cambria for its shops and dinner options.)

A few negatives: while the hotel has two heated pools, only the smaller of the two pools was heated during our stay, and that pool was not large enough for the hotel guests. (The other pool was in operation, but was too chilly.) Additionally, while the BW Cavalier is oceanfront, you must walk to either side of the hotel to actually reach the sand and ocean; the hotel property itself is separated from the ocean by a steep, rocky bluff. It's a short walk to the sand and surf, but a walk nonetheless. (Before arriving, I wondered why the hotel's print advertising promoted its oceanfront location without providing any pictures of its shoreline. Now I know why.) Finally, the rooms have no air conditioning, which was not an issue for us, but could have been a problem if the weather was a bit warmer.

In sum, if I needed a one-night stay in the San Simeon area, I would likely return to the BW Cavalier, and I recommend it as a solid choice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank JetsFan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We booked a few months in advance and asked for a second floor, ocean view room to celebrate our 30th anniversary weekend. We were not dissappointed. Check in was a snap. Front desk friendly and helpful. Our room was great! It sat back from the small bluff but you could see the waves splash and here the sound of the waves all night. The staff had a bottle of champagne cooled and waiting for us which was a nice touch. The rooms were clean, well appointed and I thought large for the price. The beach there is quite and it is dog friendly. We will definetly return to this Motel the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zithelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Nice hotel close to Hearst Castle. Staff were friendly and helpful.

I was surprised how small the town was (basically a short strip of hotels) with minimal eating establishments.

We arrived late after being re-routed away from the fires at Big Sur. Unfortunately, we missed eating dinner as the minimal # of restaurants all close by 9;30 or 10:00. The beach side fires were a nice touch , but it was so windy that evening that there were few people out enjoying them.

The pool/spa area was nice but didn't get full benefit as we arrived in San Simeon late. The panoramic website pictures are a little deceiving--place is not quite as grand as they appear on the website

After reading previous reviews by TripAdvisor members, we had breakbast at the restaurant adjoining Motel 6 What a great value! The omelet was SOOOO large that I couldn't finish it--recommend ordering ONE and sharing it! The omelet was loaded a little too much with cheese-might recommend telling the waiter to have the cook lighten up on the cheese:)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

I never thought I would like a Best Western this much. My husband & I stayed 2 nights at this resorts and payed for the Heart Castle Tour Package and champagne when we arrived. The Champagne was cheap but everything else was Great. We enjoyed every moment there. The only thing I wish I would have known is that there isn't musch sand on any of the beaches around here. It's mostly rock. Every view from our window was great. If you stay here be sure to get an oceanview room with firplace. It's great at night to have the windows open and a fire going. I didn't sleep well here but Ican't be sure it was the beds. The front desk was helpful and freiindly and we LOVED the service and food at the on sight resturant. Our hotel looked like the nicest one in Cambria and in San simeon I would definately stay there again. It was pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank YourAngil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We were there on our honeymoon and we had notified them in advance in case. We did well because they upgraded us for free and even sent a champagne bottle to our room before our arrival.

So here are the plusses:
- Magnificent view on the sea.
- The suite has a fireplace, private balcony and beautiful bathroom.
- Express checkout from the room itself.
- In-room safe.

Here are the downers:
- The spa wasn't working properly.

We absolutely loved our experience and would definitely go back. It was my favorite for our whole trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rolipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Just literally walked in the door from a peaceful weekend. Spacious room, average amenities, and the Pacific lulls you to sleep. Our party stayed in a first floor room, where a peek outside our window looked at the parking lot, the pool which was built center stage, and the ocean. The property is directly off HWY 1 (if you miss it, you're blind), and has an on-site restaurant (similar to Carrow's) for those that do not wish to drive into Cambria for their next meal option. On weekend evenings, on their "lawn" that looks out over the ocean, are 3 firepits; hotel provides chairs and firewood. The walk isn't a great distance from safe, sturdy stairs, allowing people easier access to the beach. But, there are also paths that people have carved out in the bluffs also for access to the beach. Breakfast at the on-site restaurant is quick, friendly, and sufficient; recommend driving into Cambria and eating at the Main St. Bar & Grill for all other meals. It won't break the bank at all, their version of McDonald's, but with ribs and seafood choices.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jahnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,978 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $160 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing