We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stated at the Cavalier Oceanfront Resort when we were in California to see the Hearst Castle. Our room was great and there is a wonderful oceanfront area where you can sit by a firepit and enjoy the view. The rooms were spacious and very clean. We were convenient both to the castle and also to the nearby wine country. Would definitely recommend. Just not too fond of the dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NMACTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    792
    209
    78
    20
See reviews for
611
1,451
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is great! The location is outstanding both right on the beach and near Hearst Castle. The room was clean and everything worked properly, they have super friendly staff and cool fire pits to use in the evening down on the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 81Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Had an ocean view room with a fireplace, comfortable king bed and standard type bathroom - we could walk out of the room to the beach, pool and hot tub - excellent views - fire pits at night - we found the food at the restaurant mediocre and somewhat expensive - overall the value was good

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mebent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, Cambodia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the pictures online I expected every room to be plush with an ocean view and fireplace. The room I ended up in was right next to a public bathroom and it was an ordinary Motel 6 look. I was celebrating my anniversary so I was glad to get away with my husband I just expected more. I paid $20 more at a different hotel for an ocean front view, hot tub on the balcony and fireplace the last night of our stay. The outside fire pits and quick walk to the beach was very nice and the staff was extremely nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at this hotel before a tour of Hearst Castle. Our oceanview room was very spacious with a large balcony overlooking the Pacific. Fire pits were set up on the beach with plenty of chairs surrounding them. The staff kept the fires lit until 11 PM. The restaurant on-site was very good- much more than I expected from a hotel restaurant. I enjoyed the in-room Keuring coffee maker.

Be advised that the hotel doesn't have an elevator, so you'll want a ground floor room if you have any problems with mobility. We really enjoyed our stay here and wished we had been able to stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We used this hotel as a stop-off on our way to Golletta. The room was slightly dated, but it was clean and spacious and provided free wi-fi. Were this hotel is situated doesn't offer a great choice of things to do, unless you drive to other towns. I recommend driving to Cambria. There is a restaurant situated next to the hotel, which was great for dinner on the evening we arrived and breakfast when we left.

This hotel is situated right on the beach were you can view the sunset and sunrise, it has two heated pools and offers laundry facilitates for a small fee. For a one night stay I couldn't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The key feature of this hotel is its location on the beach at Big Sur / San Simeon. It is a fine hotel that is made exceptional by its proximity to the ocean. It is well maintained, which is difficult in that environment. The price is reasonable considering the views. Our room was in the Southern most section of the hotel which can’t be more that 25 feet from the beach. The balcony had two rockers and a side table and we spent hours in the evening and morning watching the waves. After dinner we sat and watched the stars and the planets slide below the horizon one by one. While the restaurant is very nice for a quick meal, I recommend Linn’s down Route 1 in Cambria for a special dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,476 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing