We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our stay here was very enjoyable. It's a great spot to stay to visit Hearst Castle, (three miles up the road), seeing the elephant seals (five miles up the road), and taking a longer drive to Big Sur State Park....all of which we did on our visit.
The chimineas on the beach at night (three of them) are a wonderful addition to the evenings - we sat out under the stars and chatted with fellow guests...we just picked a chair when one opened up, everyone is so friendly!
The restaurant on the premises has really good food and is reasonable priced. We took a three mile drive south to the little beach town of Cambria - delightful! Ate outside at Moonstone Grill (also good food) and watched the sun set over the ocean.
While the interior of the rooms will never win any design awards, they were clean and comfortable, and our patio facing the beach (although not right on it, you pay more for those) was so cute with two chairs and a table. All staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all a wonderful stay, and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: facing the ocean is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,731 - 1,737 of 2,901 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

All in all a great hotel, great view, loved the room, they had a fire place! If they gave a breakfast they would get 5 stars. A thing a bout san simeon everything closed at 21. Nothing to do or eat after, we would have liked a snack machine.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Tal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Instead of driving all the way from Santa Barbara to Monterey in one day we decided to break it up and what a good choice! San Simeon is on the Hearst Castle doorstep and minutes away from the restaurants and shops of Cambria.
The Cavalier Oceanfront Resort gave us a room with a great beach view and friendly service. Going to sleep and waking up to the sound of waves breaking on the shore is one of life's delights.
The room was a good size, clean and very comfortable.
In the morning the breakfast from the restaurant was excellent quality and value. Service was friendly but not intrusive as it can be especially if you come from a non-tipping place.
Thoroughly recommend this place to make a wonderful drive even more memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is one of our favorite quick getaway places to stay. It is close to San Simeon as well as Cambria and is very relaxing. The local restaurants are plentiful and offer a wide range of food and service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here to break our trip and to visit Hearst Castle. The hotel was fine - the rooms were comfortable and well appointed ans reasonbly priced. We had lunch in the restaurant, which was far from gourmet fare, but was OK. In the evening we went to a restaurant across the road (sorry, can't remember the name).
The swimming pool and jacuzzi was very comfortable for a little bit of relaxing in the afternoon.
Great for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a room with a great view of the ocean. The fireplace was a very nice touch on a chilly night while sitting on the balcony with a "toddy", Great staff, all of whom were very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. There are three fire pits on the dune which are lit at sunset. There is ample space, so no need to worry about not getting a seat near the fire. We took a blanket, wine and pizza to watch the sunset. The rooms are nice and the service was friendly.

Room Tip: Queen rooms are perpendicular to the ocean, but you can see the ocean when you step out of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
638 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,986 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,198 reviews
3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $149 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, bedfinder AG, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing