We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thats a shame that they had no breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thats a shame that they had no breakfast”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

All in all a great hotel, great view, loved the room, they had a fire place! If they gave a breakfast they would get 5 stars. A thing a bout san simeon everything closed at 21. Nothing to do or eat after, we would have liked a snack machine.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    826
    219
    81
    26
See reviews for
640
1,525
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Instead of driving all the way from Santa Barbara to Monterey in one day we decided to break it up and what a good choice! San Simeon is on the Hearst Castle doorstep and minutes away from the restaurants and shops of Cambria.
The Cavalier Oceanfront Resort gave us a room with a great beach view and friendly service. Going to sleep and waking up to the sound of waves breaking on the shore is one of life's delights.
The room was a good size, clean and very comfortable.
In the morning the breakfast from the restaurant was excellent quality and value. Service was friendly but not intrusive as it can be especially if you come from a non-tipping place.
Thoroughly recommend this place to make a wonderful drive even more memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is one of our favorite quick getaway places to stay. It is close to San Simeon as well as Cambria and is very relaxing. The local restaurants are plentiful and offer a wide range of food and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here to break our trip and to visit Hearst Castle. The hotel was fine - the rooms were comfortable and well appointed ans reasonbly priced. We had lunch in the restaurant, which was far from gourmet fare, but was OK. In the evening we went to a restaurant across the road (sorry, can't remember the name).
The swimming pool and jacuzzi was very comfortable for a little bit of relaxing in the afternoon.
Great for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a room with a great view of the ocean. The fireplace was a very nice touch on a chilly night while sitting on the balcony with a "toddy", Great staff, all of whom were very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. There are three fire pits on the dune which are lit at sunset. There is ample space, so no need to worry about not getting a seat near the fire. We took a blanket, wine and pizza to watch the sunset. The rooms are nice and the service was friendly.

Room Tip: Queen rooms are perpendicular to the ocean, but you can see the ocean when you step out of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here on our way to see Hearst Castle. Rooms were much nicer than I thought they'd be. I expected nice but they really exceeded my expectations. The details...ipod charger. Granite counters, large lcd tv. Great pillows and bedding. The granite in the vanity area with the snack drawer and refrigerated drinks with any and everything you could need was so nice. The prices were very reasonable for the convenience of it. Very unexpected. Nice closet area. Nicest toiletry basket I've ever seen. The little details..again everything you might need and then some. Very pleased. The rooms don't have heat and air but you really don't need it. There is a nice sized fan in the closet which kept us very comfortable. Many people just open the windows . It's very chilly at night by the sea but they light up the fire-pit's and it makes it very inviting while you watch the sunset. They have a nice restaurant that is also reasonable. I highly recommend it's location (two miles away from the castle and very conveniently located. Great nights sleep. Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amw07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing