We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not 5 star in the truest sense...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Okay, not 5 star in the truest sense...”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

But way beyond my expectations for a motel like spot in a small town. It is oceanfront with a great expanse of beach. They provide comfy beds, ample complimentary toiletries (makeup remover, mouthwash, sewing kits, lotions, etc), free wifi, night time fire pits, and very friendly service. It creates a communal atmosphere. I just wish there was more to do around San Simeon than Hearst Castle, because it is a shame to have to leave so soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NCGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    831
    222
    82
    28
See reviews for
643
1,542
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed only one night but it was great. We had a king room. It was a bit pricey but we made same day reservations and I really didn't shop around. The room was spotless and even included binoculars to watch for wildlife.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We'd booked the hotel out of convenience on a trip from SF to LA and were delighted when we arrived - its location on the beach and the view is spectacular.
The rooms are clean and a good size - we wished it was winter as there is an individual fire place. No air con but the sea breeze cooled us down fine.
There's an (outdated but functional) gym, a cheap coin op laundry, and we were given breakfast vouchers when we arrived which we did not expect.
We ate dinner in the restaurant - the food was OK (better than I expected) and the price was very good and the staff friendly and attentive. After dinner there are bonfires down on the beach which is another great touch.
We were really happy with the hotel and disappointed we didn't have another night to stay and do some water sports and enjoy cocktails at sunset!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I only stayed one night but really enjoyed the evening. After a great dinner down on Moonstone Beach at Moonstone Bar & Grill we returned to our room. The resort has outside fire pits which are lit each night and are on the oceanfront. Also on the grounds is a laundry station for guest to use, Great location if you are going to visit the Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rush City, Minnesota, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

nice location right on the beach, hotel is a little dated and expensive, but so is everything in this area....but clean and decent. only issue was there is no microwave in the room..restaurant is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. We had only booked a standard room but were delighted when we were allocated a top floor room which had a side sea view. We ate at the restaurant (we booked a table when we arrived and were glad we had as it was busy). The food was lovely and good value and the breakfast was great too.
The hotel lights fires overlooking the beach at night and we sat around one after dinner chatting to other guests. I would love to stay here again, I think most people use it as a 1 night stop but it'd be a lovely place to relax for a couple of nights too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our spacious and comfortable room has a lovely view of the shore, cliffs, and ocean. We had everything we needed to enjoy the weekend: the view, the sound of the waves, a big bathtub a big TV and a king bed. We just walked out our door and were on a walking trail along the coast, and could easily get down to the beach. It was quiet too. I guess other guests were there to relax as well. The room was about $200 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for an second floor room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebKellaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing