We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hotel and fatastic overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming hotel and fatastic overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Driving between San Fran to LA we stopped at San Simeon for a stay. We were welcomed by Savanah, she gave us a great rate. The room was very clean, and the bed were comfortable.
The restaurant on the property was very good the staff were very friendly and food was excellent
need a half way place to stop this is the place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbie642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    722
    180
    72
    14
See reviews for
532
1,337
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

nice restaurant across the road from where we stayed in san simeon Friday night very busy waited 30 mins for a table but worth it very very pleasant. good service with friendly staff and worth the wait here in san simeon. lovely views from the window tables

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Driving between LA and San Fran, we stopped in at San Simeon for an overnight stay. Although we didn’t have a booking we were given a great rate on a twin double room and even given ocean views. The resort is right on the beach so the views are quite spectacular, especially at sunset.

Staff were extremely helpful and pointed out local petrol stations and supermarkets without us having to ask. They also suggested lots of great stops for us to make on the way to San Fran and also told us how to book in tours of nearby Hearst Castle.

Room was great, extremely spacious with great sized bathroom including many complimentary cosmetics. Beds were extremely comfortable.

The restaurant next door is also great, the provided complimentary samples of some menu items.

Overall the stay was fantastic, the only downside being we couldn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During our month long holiday, this hotel and restaurant were a standout. It may not have been as luxurious as some of the other hotels we stayed at, but the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, the rooms and bathroom large, clean and comfortable and the location stunning - being roughly half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles on the scenic Highway One. At night, fire pits are lit overlooking the ocean which guests can mill around. The meal we had at the restaurant was one of THE best we had during our holiday - absolutely delicious food (and plenty of it) served by friendly waiters and at affordable prices. A perfect stopover hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is nice, but more importantly, it is at the ideal location right on the beach in a wonderful little cove. It is a bit dated, but the rooms are nice and the views are incredible. I would recommend a ocean front room, although the ocean view rooms looked ok too. We watched a beautiful sunset from our room overlooking the beach. Our room had a wood burning fireplace in it which was nice. Again, nothing fancy, but we would certainly return. It was a birthday trip for me and they certainly were very generous with the room selection (and the complementary bottle of bubbly on ice in our room when we arrived). Please note that check in time is 4:00 p.m. We arrived early and our room was not ready until 2:30 or 3:00 p.m. Ask for an early check in if you need it! Great prices too!

Room Tip: Ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drubaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This motel was better than I had expected with large rooms and for a bit extra fee, a room facing the ocean
Just about a 5 minute drive to the Hearst Castle visitor center
Be prepared for cooler temperatures than in Santa Barbara, for example

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isaacsobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing