We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Your Fathers Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not Your Fathers Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you'd told me that I would be giving a Best Western Hotel 4 Stars, I would have told you "No way!". But here it is: the location for Hearst Castle is great, the view of the Pacific is great, and the fire pits that bring guests together every night is great. The owner has taken a 1980's Best Western park in front of your room motel and brought it up to premium standards to include granite and marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, crown molding and fireplaces in some rooms. The building is well maintained and the staff puts the guests needs as their priority. If your going to Hearst Cavalier stay at the Cavalier.
http://www.grinkmeyer.com/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    748
    186
    74
    15
See reviews for
562
1,369
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location on the Pacific Coast. We got an Ocean View room and the view was amazing. It was relaxing to sit on the balcony and look over the ocean. The rooms are well equip with everything you need. The restaurant delivers to the rooms at restaurant prices and the food is delicious. If I lived in California, I would make this a regular stop of mine. Its so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spazwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and i were driving down the coast from Arroyo Grande for a family gathering It was a nice and sunny day, perfect for a drive down Highway 1.
We planned in staying for a night somewhere down the road along the coast.before continue on our trip back to Bay area. After my GPS told us about Best Western plus Cavalier hotel on the beach side in San Simeon, my husband and i stopped to check it out.
The hotel location was breathtaking. The hotel itself looked pristine and well kept. There are 3 fire pits on the manicured lawn facing the ocean. Since most rooms has a grand view anyway, we chose the standard room with a king bed,
So when Anna, the front desk agent upgraded us to a ocean view room with a fireplace, we were beyond delighted (well i squealed) The room was spacious and sunny, it has a fireplace and a balcony with chairs for us to enjoy the view. Thank you Anna :) The amenities are plenty and what i would have packed myself. Such a thoughtful concept.
What a nice surprise to have stumble upon this property on our road trip. There are so many positive to say about this hotel, but i will let others just experience that themselves. We enjoyed our stay tremendously, and we will definitely stay here again, and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were only at this Hotel for one night on our way up the coast. It was a decent/average room that was clean and good size. It was a great location to see Hearst Castle which was our main reason for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiepebbles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a find !!!!. Great reception by very knowledgeable staff. Room was large and overlooked the beach and pool area. In room information folder was the most comprehensive I have ever read. Loved how staff are listed by years of service. The in room "freebees" were amazing. I have never seen so many supplied for every eventuality. Breakfast in the restaurant was fine. Great position for Hearst Castle and Big Sur Coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As other travelers have noted, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the amenities are very nice. Neutogena face soap! We stayed for two nights before relocating to San Francisco for a conference, and I'd rather have stayed here. We took an ocean view room with a fireplace, and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We were able to use the fireplace both evenings.

We found t fist morning of our stay that our shower/tub did not drain well. We stopped by the front desk as we were leaving for the day and told them about the problem. The young man at the desk asked our permission to allow someone in our room during our absence and told us that the problem would be taken care of. Sure enough, the next day, the tub drained perfectly. There was no other sign in the tub or on the bathroom floor - or anywere else in the room - that any work had been done.

We enjoyed touring wineries in the hills between San Simeon and Paso Robles, and we were very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our visit to Hearst Castle. Next time we go, we'll stay longer. Look for sea otters!

Room Tip: We opted for an oceanview room with a fireplace, and we were glad we did. We asked for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWILgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Location is right on the beach and very close to Hearst Castle. Check in/out was friendly and efficient. Room was large and clean. Impressive that staff are listed in the information folder, by years of service - in my mind this points to a well managed business. We ate dinner (room service) - value for money and good and breakfast which was also good. We bought a breakfast voucher expecting a buffet breakfast but it was order up to the value of the breakfast voucher from the menu - so wouldn't bother with that as you save nothing. Not what I would call a resort. I found all the accommodation down the Big Sur coast to be over-priced for what you get - it wasn't high season but I guess they can charge these rates for the location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
3.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing