We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I'd stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I'd stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As other travelers have noted, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the amenities are very nice. Neutogena face soap! We stayed for two nights before relocating to San Francisco for a conference, and I'd rather have stayed here. We took an ocean view room with a fireplace, and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We were able to use the fireplace both evenings.

We found t fist morning of our stay that our shower/tub did not drain well. We stopped by the front desk as we were leaving for the day and told them about the problem. The young man at the desk asked our permission to allow someone in our room during our absence and told us that the problem would be taken care of. Sure enough, the next day, the tub drained perfectly. There was no other sign in the tub or on the bathroom floor - or anywere else in the room - that any work had been done.

We enjoyed touring wineries in the hills between San Simeon and Paso Robles, and we were very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our visit to Hearst Castle. Next time we go, we'll stay longer. Look for sea otters!

Room Tip: We opted for an oceanview room with a fireplace, and we were glad we did. We asked for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWILgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    729
    184
    74
    15
See reviews for
551
1,350
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Location is right on the beach and very close to Hearst Castle. Check in/out was friendly and efficient. Room was large and clean. Impressive that staff are listed in the information folder, by years of service - in my mind this points to a well managed business. We ate dinner (room service) - value for money and good and breakfast which was also good. We bought a breakfast voucher expecting a buffet breakfast but it was order up to the value of the breakfast voucher from the menu - so wouldn't bother with that as you save nothing. Not what I would call a resort. I found all the accommodation down the Big Sur coast to be over-priced for what you get - it wasn't high season but I guess they can charge these rates for the location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay here. The staff was very warm, knowledgeable and friendly and you knew they would go the "extra mile" for you. The room was comfortable and clean with nice amenities. The room service was awesome! Not only did everyhting arrive promptly, but what was supposed to be hot, was, which is a great feat as this is not an enclosed hotel. I also liked the fact that the room service prices were the same as in the restaurant and without a "delivery fee". Tax was added and gratuity was at the discretion of the client as it should be. Well done!! I wish more hotels/motels would take a page from your book. The balcony was a nice size and, inside, there was a working fireplace. At night, the "bonfires" were lit on the beach (weather permitting). The ocean view rooms are only about 100 yards back from the beach so easy to watch the sea and the sunsets. The ocean front rooms are at the ocean's edge and are a bit larger with a few more amenities, but the ocean view rooms are more than adequate. Only things missing were a light over the bar area and a lighted make-up mirror for the ladies, but I understand that that is in the works.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vignettehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagupan ,Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay,booked two rooms for 7 family members. Though rooms are not that spacious but clean and supplied with full amenities. Its just a short walk to the beach and very quiet and peaceful surrounding.staff were warm and accomodating.

Room Tip: Choose one on the ground floor and facing the sea, we were given rooms on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfc1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
215 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed at this motel for many, many years, although it had been a long time since our last visit. We were surprised to see how much the motel has grown and gone a bit more upscale. It used to be a pretty typical beach motel, not at all seedy, but not what you'd consider "fancy". Now it appears that it has beautiful king rooms with great ocean views. While it does seem pricey at over $300 a night for those rooms, I suppose that people will find it worth the money. We made last minute reservations and were lucky to get just a normal room for about $140 a night, but they are nicely appointed with a nice toiletry area, comfortable bed and furnishings.
They have nightly bonfires, but when we peeked out, all the seats around the pit were occupied, so we passed.
One of my favorite features of this motel is the beach it sits on. Fabulous opportunity to beach comb, looking at the fabulous colors in the rocks. I'll confess to collecting some to bring home to create a nice little bathroom deco.
The onsite restaurant is very convenient with decent food. Not cheap, but this small sea-side town doesn't have much to offer by way of restaurants, and that's actually part of the charm..the feeling of being "remote". The staff from the hotel and restaurant are all very friendly, and the service is very good.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay the price, you will want to stay in the newest section which has king &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family of 4 were on our way from Santa Cruz to Anaheim and stopped in for the night. We just caught a glimps of the elephant seals on the beach at dusk just before we stopped at the hotel and they were amazing. The check in staff were very friendly and gave us there last room which was a disabled room - that was fantastic as it was a corner room which overlooked the private beach with the firepits. The staff also helped us book our tickets to Hearst Castle for the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrendyK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Clean and great views. Fireplaces by the surf. It is reasonably priced and worth it. Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent in the adjoining restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank legaldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing