We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views and ocean views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I used to live in Cambria and Cayucos, so I am totally familiar with the area, so we decided to stay in San Simeon because I hadn't stayed there before. The room was great - lower level (and I prefer the upper level, but this was actually ok) - and the view of the ocean was absolutely incredible. We also walked to the beach in the evening, enjoyed our casual walk, which was only footsteps away from our room.
We sat on the patio each evening, sipping wine from our winery tours, and watched the incredible sunset. We also had a fireplace in our room, so after our ocean walk and patio seating, we then built a fire in our room and it was so very romantic.
My only concern is the housekeeping service. We tipped them each day ($5.00), left a note that we needed more firewood and they totally complied. We had more than enough firewood, but the cleanliness of the room was somewhat a concern for me. I am used to having a housekeeping service clean up and/or clean around and stack everything. Instead, they cleaned "around" my stuff; and if I had stuff, they didn't do any cleaning except around it.

Room Tip: If you are invested in an ocean view at a reasonable price, this is the place for you! I loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service upon our arrival is always friendly. My wife and I enjoy the open view of the Pacific Ocean from our patio. I also enjoy getting up early and watching the sunrise from the east reflecting upon the waves. Then I take a leisurely walk to the Cavalier Restaurant for their special breakfast of pancakes,egg, ham, and orange juice. The breakfast is great and the service outstanding. After my breakfast, I take something from the restaurant back to my wife.Then, my wife and I either head north to view the elephant seals or south to visit Cambria. We enjoy the restaurants and shops in Cambria.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel very nice. Prime location. Only wish they had 2 beds in the rooms with fireplaces. Staff is great, hotel grounds are very clean, and kept up. Restaurant on the hotel grounds, good food and reasonable prices,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed one night at the Best Western Cavalier Ocean Front on our drive from San Diego to San Francisco. This hotel is GREAT. We had an ocean view room, which was superbly furnished and had the most comfortable bed I can remember in any hotel. The linens, sheets, furniture were all super. There were two easy chairs to sit in a view the ocean while enjoying the indoor fireplace. The staff (from reception, to housekeeping, to the support staff) was super friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Each evening, they light three fire pits near the cliffs so you can sit outside, watch the sunset, then sit, and enjoy the evening. Please remember that you are in San Simeon, not downtown LA. You cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view or ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sail2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Hotel is at least ocean adjacent, has some OK amenities and is close to what we wanted. Spent two nights and it was fine. Nothing special here. Biggest disappointment was the staff. This area is know for friendly folks, but the girl at registration barely looked at us as she gave her required speech (something about pet rules, of which we didn't have a pet with us). Cleaning staff were knocking on our door way too early to see what time we were checking out. Attached restaurant was similar to your chain breakfast diner food, but did have really nice wait staff there.

Bad bed, cool fireplace for use. Hotel was pretty empty but we still got a bad location for our room. We didn't bother to ask for a different room because we weren't going to spend much time there, which was the point.

Room Tip: We were downstairs...maybe ask for upstairs for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and some friends were traveling through California, and Hearst Castle was on our list of things to do. After a little research I discovered the Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Resort in San Simeon. After our arrival, we discovered they had a room with three queen sized beds(Room 202), which was perfect for our needs. It was clean, and had everything we needed. At night we took a bottle of wine down to the water, and sat by one of the three fire pits and watched the sunset. It was awesome. If you open the window when going to sleep, the sounds of the ocean will soothe you to sleep.
The room does not come with breakfast, but we ate at the hotel restaurant every morning. The breakfast was wonderful, and the service was outstanding. Maricela was our server, both days, and she is awesome.
The only negative thing I have to say about this property is that the hot tub is not hot. After dinner one evening, we suited up and headed to the hot tub. It was a chilly evening, so we were excited to get there, only to find a luke warm hot tub. We opted not to get in.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here, and we would recommend this place to anyone staying in the San Simeon area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just spent two nights at this hotel and really enjoyed it! We had a king ocean front room on the second floor and the view was beautiful. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable as well as the pillows. Breakfast was not included but there is a nice restaurant right there and the food was very good. It was very close to Hearst Castle and also we happened to stop at an area just north of the hotel which turned out to be the rookery for the elephant seals. What a great sight they were with their babies relaxing along the coast! Such a beautiful area! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel highly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
539 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
919 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,095 reviews
3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $148 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing