We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Guest of Cavalier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2008

As an untypical frequent business visitor to San Simeon for over two years now - I would like to pass on that The Cavalier is by far the nicest property in the area. Moonstone Beach properties may tell you they are oceanfront - but they leave out the fact that there is a road between all the properties and the ocean and most of their rooms face each other across the various hotels parking lots or have views across the road from primarily one story properties. The Cavalier is truly oceanfront. Views from the Oceanfront rooms are a very rare treat, not something one finds along the California coast, they are spacious, meticulously cleaned and maintained and nicely decorated. A second floor oceanfront room - all of which have fireplaces as well is a real treat and very reasonably priced compared to rates at other locations on the coast. The Ocean View rooms are set back slightly further on the property, but you will find only a lawn between yourself and the ocean from your deck or patio. For a more budget conscious traveller the rooms that face the parking area are also nicely decorated and though you don't have a direct ocean view, you are ocean front and can spend time outside on the lawn area during the day and in the evening as well when the hotel lights three fire pits and stocks them with plenty of wood for the evening. You will find many other clean and friendly properties in the area - but will wish you stayed at the Cavalier because of its unique location and the size of it's oceanfront lawn area. All the staff are friendly and accommodating. As someone who has visited the area and spent at minimum 30 nights in the area over the past two years - please understand San Simeon and Cambria are not a fine dining destination area. There are good meals to be had - but if you want gourmet head up the coast another hour and 45 minutes to Big Sur and spend four times as much at Post Ranch Inn or Ventana. I find that as a tired traveler I love having dinner at the Cavalier and not having to get in the car to drive to Cambria six miles down the road. The fare is very reasonably priced comfort food - the hot turkey sandwich with mashed potatoes, dressing, gravy and fresh steamed vegetables is simple and good - if you are a steak eater the Hearst Ranch steaks are well prepared and are tender lean organic grass fed beef and an interesting change from standard beef again at a very good price - the prime rib and fried chicken dinners are also served with mashed potatoes and fresh steamed vegetables along with a mixed green salad. Crab cakes are a recommended item as well. You can go elsewhere in Cambria/Moonstone, pay twice as much - and all you get extra is some odd sauce poured over your dinner. For a more formal meal In Cambria I would recommend the Sow's Ear, Robin's (the fish taco at lunch is fantastic) and at the very end of the main street on the right a small restaurant - with a name that includes "Ginger" you'll see a neon palm tree out front. On your way north up the coast a must stop is Nepenthe in Big Sur - for The Ambrosia Burger - and the Three Berry Pie.

Stayed: March 2008
6  Thank MuirBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2008

This was a clean, comfortable motel room. You can tell that they went to great lengths to update this place. We ate dinner at the Mexican restaurant down the street. We ate breakfast the next morning at the hotel’s restaurant. Order the homemade muffin. I found nothing to complain about. My wife and I stayed here on a Tuesday night for $107.91. This was our fourth stop on a trip down Pacific Coast Highway CA1 from Oakland to San Diego. This is the place to stay the night before you tour the Hearst Castle. Have lunch at the castle before leaving. Next stop is Holiday Inn in Ventura.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LeesSummitCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting Heart Castle. It is one of the very best Best Western properties we have ever stayed at. There are many extra features offered in the rooms and at night they even light fires in the pits outside so you can enjoy the ocean despite the chill in the air. It is very conveniently located for a visit to Hearst castle or to see the elephant seals. We would also recommend the Mexican restaurant El Chorlito which is very nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank leekaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Was one of the best times we had on the pacific coast. The resort is in a beautiful location. We asked for a OceanView room which was just perfect. It is a nice place to stay and relax and go to nearby places like Hearst Castle, Cambria, Moonstone Beach, etc. Upper level ocean view rooms are less expensive than ocean front rooms but still have a great view. We will surely go back to this place when we can. Overall it turned out to be a great second honeymoon.

If driving at night or in bad weather to this place from bay area, it might be safe to take 101 S and CA 46, rather than CA 1 which is very curvy all the way till San Simeon.

Apart from the restaurant in this resort there are a lots of nice places to eat in and around cambria. We tried moonstone beach restaurant, wild ginger cafe and pizza parlor.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank naavipans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Great hotel. Very clean and spacious rooms. Upscale room and amenities. We had a great stay, in fact, we extended our stay because we liked it so much. We ate at the restaurant because it was there. The restaurant was the only downside of our stay. Food was overpriced and mediocre. Very friendly staff though. We will surely stay there again, I hope they can straighten out the restaurant. The nightly bonfires down by the water put this place over the top in our book. We called the BW 800 number and could not get a room. Hung up with them and called the hotel directly and got in.........

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Robmicgrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

I went to the Best Western for my birthday weekend and everything from the weather, to the room, to the Hearst Castle tour was amazing.

They do not have free breakfast, but we ate many times at their restaurant. I thought the food was good. However we learned that the town closes up pretty early. We learned that the hard way.

Our room was amazing and it was awesome to have a fireplace. The staff was great and we had no problems with check in. We had an ocean front view on the first floor, so we could walk straight out to the beach. We did have some trouble with our lock for the door, but they fixed it up right away.

I clearly do not have anything bad to say about this hotel or my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kasey2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Wow, when are you ever pleasantly surprised these days?
We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cavalier and from
the minute we stepped into the lobby, to opening the door to our room, it just kept getting better. The hotel property is large and spacious with unobstructed views of the pacific ocean and gorgeous sunsets. VERY pet friendly. The rooms are comfortable with higher end linens and very soft bath towels. Nice and quiet too. We stayed in room 250 that had a fireplace which was cozy and a very large balcony. They also provided
binoculars which was a nice touch. We actually extended a night which we've never done before, if that tells you anything.
We will return again, with our cocker spaniel in tow next time
for another great vacation.
Thanks to everyone at the Cavalier for exceeding our expectations!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GayleandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
535 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
919 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,094 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $148 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing