We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay over between LA and Los Angeles!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The friendliest welcome awaited us at San Simeon Best Western! Rooms were pretty standard, but very spacious and comfortable. There is a beautiful pool, an adequate gym and a good restaurant. Service was very friendly and professional. The menu varied and some healthy options too. Breakfast was great - lots of fruit!
Best thing is the fire pits by the seaside. Lovely views of the sunset and very social. Worth the effort to stay over! Lovely stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,902 - 1,908 of 2,858 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hotel is not new but well maintained. Beautiful ocean view in front of the room.

My room didn't have fireplace and so I cannot comment on that. However, it would probably a bit of a hassle to have the fireplace -- the heater worked fine for us!

Had dinner at the restaurant (simple soup and salad) but the food was on the average-and-not-so-good side. The guy who greeted us (Mark) was very friendly and helpful, though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eas_Bandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Rooms have fire places ,Ocean view,restaurant,and and at night they have 3 to 4 huge bon fires they light and supply the wood for.great for smores and a glass of wine,they also have chairs around the fire.It's the kind.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Perfect location, good room with fireplace and partial ocean view. They offer AAA discount rates. Friendly staff, nice jacuzzi and decent pool. Great walking paths and perfect sunset. Decent restaurant. We would come back!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A colleague of mine who has driven up and down the central coast many times recommended this hotel to me. I have to admit: I was skeptical because I'm not a huge fan of chains and bigger hotels, but the reviews on Trip Advisor convinced me that we needed to check this place out--I'm glad we did. Located just ten minutes from Hearst Castle and perhaps ten minutes from the quaint town of Cambria (go to Robin's Restaurant), it sits right on the water. We liked the balcony that overlooked the ocean. We also loved the fact that there was a wood-burning stove with easy to use pellets in our room. How fun is that? They also have several fire pits scattered on the property that they light in the evening. The room was very spacious and we had a nice breakfast at the restaurant one of the mornings. Sure, the decor is not super current, but the amazing view and wood-burning stove made this an unusual stay and worth recommending for others traveling the CA Central coast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Could not have had a better 40th Anniversary. Nice people, nice room, nice location. We could hear the surf from our balcony. And we went strolling along the beach. They have several wood stoves by the beach and benches to sit and watch the fire, or sit on benches along the beach trail. Nice restaurant at one end of the motel. Wonderful trip !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank THOMAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The room was large and had plenty of comfortable seating, and places to set up laptop. Appreciated having TWO luggage racks, good size TV and quality supplies. Nicely appointed and very reasonably priced. Room service menu gave plenty of choice and was delivered promptly, and the food wasn't bad. Right on the beach and a midday checkout was a bonus too.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach end and not the highway end. I had room 200 which was Highway end, but the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
547 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
920 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,100 reviews
3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $148 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing