We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best stay of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    792
    209
    78
    20
See reviews for
611
1,451
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Cavalier at San Simeon for one night on visiting Hearst Castle, and we were extremly happy with the room, the locotion, the resturant on site and the fire pit on the beach which they light every night at 6pm. We also enjoyed breakfast the next morning at the onsite resturant and the food was wonderful and very affordable. Will stay again, and hope others will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Service with sincere well being for their customers. Spectacular view, clean rooms and the resturant next door great food with afortable prices. Book your room with a phone call too hotel, online bookings are deceptive. We booked online and did not get what we thought we booked. Although we did enjoy our visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you request, a great sea view, these rooms are also quiet (apart from the surf!)
Staff helpful & pleasant & restaurant surprisingly good! (see separate review). Very good value as most BWs seem to be. Pleasant outside deck to view the sunset, & fires lit down towards the beach if you want to brave the wind.

Room Tip: request sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellence all around. Travelling from LA to SF via route 1. Stopped over in the Cavalier. Great location approx 50 meters from the ocean front. 3 fires lit in the grounds at night and patrons we encouraged to sit around at night. On site restaurant was excellent. Try the seafood platter for dinner and Cajun omelette for breakfast. The well stocked and reasonable priced mini bar made up for the lack of real bar facilities on site although there is a liquor store across the road. Room ware well proportioned with highlights being the open fires and availability of binoculars (dolphins played off shore in the morning and whale migration in certain months). Will definitely be making a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western during a recent trip down Pacific Coast Highway before heading to Hearst Castle. I must admit that I was leary when I booked the room based on the price. I was expecting minimal amenities, but was very pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. The room boasted ocean views, a wood burning fireplace and a mini-bar stocked with beverages and snacks for the whole family. The hotel exterior featured a heated pool, on-site restaurant and beach-front firepits and benches for viewing the spectacular sunset. The room itself was spacious and the hotel was generous with the toiletries-everything from soap and shampoo to make-up and nail polish removal pads, a sewing kit and post-beach foot cleanser! When the room got too warm from the fire, we were able to open the windows to our room and listen to the waves crashing all night. We dined at the restaurant for dinner and ordered room service for breakfast--both meals were fantastic and reasonably priced. The hotel is very conveniently located for a visit to Hearst Castle. I would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have an "ocean view"--be sure to specify "Ocean Front" if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyL707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a handicap room because my mom is in a wheelchair. Not all "handicap" rooms are wheelchair friendly, and the Cavalier was perfect for our situation. Everyone was attentive to our every need...The paths on the bluff were easy to go on, also. We loved hearing the crashing waves from our room! We were told it wasn't a room with a "view" and were so surprised to still have "ocean" out our window! Very clean and comfortable. Good food at the resteraunt and at the Mexican place close by. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,476 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing