We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
$192
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
$80
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
$107
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
$109
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Silver Surf Motel(San Simeon)
$88
$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$269
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,987)
Filter reviews
2,987 results
Traveler rating
1,705
900
254
94
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,705
900
254
94
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontrocking chairsoceanfront roomwood burning fireplacehearst castleroom servicemini bareach eveningkeurig coffee makeron site restaurantwatch the sunsetelephant sealsstayed longerthe pacific oceanhear the wavescentral coastsecond floor
Filter
Updating list...
2,036 - 2,041 of 2,987 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellence all around. Travelling from LA to SF via route 1. Stopped over in the Cavalier. Great location approx 50 meters from the ocean front. 3 fires lit in the grounds at night and patrons we encouraged to sit around at night. On site restaurant was excellent. Try the seafood platter for dinner and Cajun omelette for breakfast. The well stocked and reasonable priced mini bar made up for the lack of real bar facilities on site although there is a liquor store across the road. Room ware well proportioned with highlights being the open fires and availability of binoculars (dolphins played off shore in the morning and whale migration in certain months). Will definitely be making a return trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western during a recent trip down Pacific Coast Highway before heading to Hearst Castle. I must admit that I was leary when I booked the room based on the price. I was expecting minimal amenities, but was very pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. The room boasted ocean views, a wood burning fireplace and a mini-bar stocked with beverages and snacks for the whole family. The hotel exterior featured a heated pool, on-site restaurant and beach-front firepits and benches for viewing the spectacular sunset. The room itself was spacious and the hotel was generous with the toiletries-everything from soap and shampoo to make-up and nail polish removal pads, a sewing kit and post-beach foot cleanser! When the room got too warm from the fire, we were able to open the windows to our room and listen to the waves crashing all night. We dined at the restaurant for dinner and ordered room service for breakfast--both meals were fantastic and reasonably priced. The hotel is very conveniently located for a visit to Hearst Castle. I would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have an "ocean view"--be sure to specify "Ocean Front" if the view from the room is of great importance to you.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyL707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a handicap room because my mom is in a wheelchair. Not all "handicap" rooms are wheelchair friendly, and the Cavalier was perfect for our situation. Everyone was attentive to our every need...The paths on the bluff were easy to go on, also. We loved hearing the crashing waves from our room! We were told it wasn't a room with a "view" and were so surprised to still have "ocean" out our window! Very clean and comfortable. Good food at the resteraunt and at the Mexican place close by. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After a somewhat nervous drive down through Big Sur from San Francisco this little gem of a hotel awaited us. Good price with ocean view, but best part are the fires lit each night on the bluff above the beautiful ocean and beach. We sat by one of the three that were lit after dark and chatted with other travelers while drinking some good regional wine we purchased at the liquor store across the street. Beds and pillows were fantastic - the best we had on that trip. Front desk staff alerted us to the impending sunset while we were checking in - gorgeous - don't miss it! Decennt but not overwhelming dining choices just 5 minutes south in Cambria - recommend the ones on the ocean side of the highway for view. Perfect place to stay when visiting Hearst Castle. Just a minute north on the highway and you are at the entrance to the Visitor's Center. Check out Sebastian's just across highway from Castle entrance in San Simeon for lunch after your tour - great sandwiches using Hearst Ranch beef. Better to go there after your tour - lines can be long. If you are looking for a Marriott Marquis feel, this is not the place for you. But if you want a relaxing down-home atmosphere, comfortable rooms, and an incredible view in a very convenient location - this IS the place for you. I have no criticisms - it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank info4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We liked this lodge. But get an ocean view or dont bother. Reasonably priced with pleasant rooms nicely furnished with mini bars and huge safes. The hotel lights open air log fires just on the edge of the beach which made night watching the waves a pleasure. Some rooms have log burners, and face-on ocean views but these are more expensive. We were slightly annoyed that both the booking confirmation and the guest directory mentioned a DVD player but in fact has abandoned those as they have upgraded their TVs. Not a deal breaker but we had some US bought discs we would have liked to play. San Simeon may seem the obvious stop for visiting Hearst Castle. And without wishing to knock this inn we wished we knew about Cambria a few miles up the road. It is charming with far more choice of ocean view inns. Cambria is full of galleries and restaurants and is clealy over-endowed for its own tiny population. Somehow despite being a tourist magnet and its crazy folksy attempt at English village architecture it escapes tacky by some margin and as English visitors we were charmed. The town is divided by the highway but this wouldn't matter to most.

Room Tip: The direct ocean views carry an additional cost but well worth it
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyChevrefeuille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews