We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our short stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
“Enjoyed our short stay!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night from our trip from L A to San Fran. Loved it !
Clean Room , Great View overlooking the Ocean, Fire Place in the Room ,
The Firepits overlooking the ocean is a great place to watch the sunsets and enjoy the views. It was a nice place to meet other travelors. Would love to return and stay a few days instead of just passing through. Location is very close to Hearst Castle.
Enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant prior to our 9 am Hearst Castle tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeXasMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    813
    211
    80
    23
See reviews for
627
1,493
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great upstairs corner room with splendid balcony views of the ocean. Staff were extremely friendly and I remarked I had seen Travis, the server in the restaurant some 5 years ago on a previous visit. She said she had been there 23 years. I met other staff who had worked there for similar periods and showed similar dedication. The guestbook really needs updating with staff serving terms. Sunsets were magical and make the stay at this hotel particularly worthwhile. Breaded chicken in a bernaise sauce with white and wild rice was tasty as well as the braised liver and bacon on a bed of mash. No problem with coffee and water top ups. Thanks to all for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcordeSST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Like many other reviewers we chose a location just down the road from the Hearst Castle, which we were visiting at 9:00 the next morning. We were very satisfied with our Oceanfront room, just leaving the door open and listening to the pounding of the waves. And the next day when we visited the castle and realized we would run past the 12:00 checkout time (we hadn't quite finished packing), we simply called from the castle and requested an extra hour. No problem. We had dinner as well as breakfast at the on-site restaurant and reviewed that separate and rated both meals good. We would stay here again if we make it back to this area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We(my husband and I) loved this place! Nice room , nice views and so relaxing! The walk on the beach, the fire pits , the waves crashing, and the sunset was the perfect ending to our California vacation! My husband is already thinking about a return visit just to relax at the hotel !! It was clean, quite and nice people!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertslund, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed in this lovely place twice on our way down to LA. It has nice big rooms and really nice surroundings. Staff is very friendly. In the evening we went down to the beach with our four kids and sat in front of the fireplaces listening to the Pacific. Awesome. The breakfast in the restaurant is also excellent and afterwards a nice stroll on the beach. I always recommend this place to people who is asking about hotels along the Highway 1.

Room Tip: The next time we go there I would like a room with sea view, they look so lovely. NB. my review goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanneblochtatnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Over priced, dated. San Simeon IS NOT a city. No food places except a cafe that charges $25 for a plate of spaghetti. The restaurant by this hotel closed at 9 pm--there were people hanging out the door after 8 pm still waiting to be fed.
We had no place to eat as it was around 8:30 pm when we arrived. We were starving and when we got to our room, my husband found some snacks stocked in the room. We dove into peanuts (yuk) and other junk only to find out that we had to pay for that as well. Total bill was $211.00. Unbelieveable! Pool was chilly and very small. I will NEVER NEVER stay in this hick money grab dive again. And they didn't even supply breakfast. Bathroom had cracks in celiing.

Room Tip: drive by this place and leave town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank karen412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel during a visit to Hearst Castle. Our room was excellent. It overlooked the ocean, was clean, nicely furnished and roomy. It even had a fire place. There is a restaurant next door which is a part of the hotel that is also good. We will certainly stay here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing