We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“TOTALLY WORTH PAYING FOR OCEANFRONT, SO RELAXING, EVEN SAW WHALES RIGHT FROM OUR BALCONY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“TOTALLY WORTH PAYING FOR OCEANFRONT, SO RELAXING, EVEN SAW WHALES RIGHT FROM OUR BALCONY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a relaxing vacation. Our first night we chose to stay in San Simeon (Cambria) and went back to the Best Western Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel for our second time. The man who helped us was nothing but polite and professional. We stayed in the King Oceanfront Room, requested a 2nd story & got one. The rooms a spacious. The view is incredible. Being on the 2nd floor we were able to sleep with the slider open & have the fireplace going while we slept and boy did we sleep good. Bed was comfy (down pillows aren't my favorite though). The bathroom had a really big bathtub!! Super relaxing. On the bathroom sink is a bunch of complimentary toiletries from bath & body works shampoo, conditioner & lotion to mouth wash to makeup remover, nail polish remover, shower cap, cotton balls & cuetips (sorry if spelled wrong). They also provided binoculars. Another awesome thing was the coffee pot, it was a kuerig (you know one of those like instant coffee machines), super cool. When we woke up we drank coffee and watched the outside life, ended up seeing 3 whales swimming around straight out from our balcony, even got photos. Anyway, what I'm trying to say is, we will be back no doubt about it. Oh and its pet friendly, didn't take out dogs last time but we did our first time. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ambiebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    720
    180
    72
    14
See reviews for
530
1,337
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Really great place, right on the water, ocean view room second floor with fireplace, Clean room with fridge ,big bathroom, balcony. Night time fires outside great place to get to know other travellers. 5 minute drive to Hearst Castle. Excellent place to relax before heading to Carmel or Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenorvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was the second stop on our coastal drive from San Francisco to LA and it did not disappoint. Stayed for one night and paid extra for an ocean view room which was definitely worth it - watching pelicans fly over the Pacific Ocean from the comfort of your room while the sun goes down is amazing.
The hotel is a few miles out of the small town, alongside a few other hotels and a couple of convenience stores. Check in was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to drive our car round to the room so no dragging the luggage for miles! We were advised upon check-in that San Simeon tends to close around 9pm so to make sure we ate out before that time. Decided to eat at the onsite restaurant, food was standard fare and all mains came with a soup or salad included.
You cannot fault the location - right on the edge of the ocean, with a few steps down to a pebble beach. The fire pits are lit when the sun sets but all were staked out well in advance, so we opted for a fire in the room. This lit easily with the products supplied and made the room really warm and cosy. Bed was great and the lull of the ocean meant we got a good nights sleep! Wi-fi was standard and worked fine and the room had a safe, coffee maker and a large fridge. The mini-bar was well stocked and very reasonable as there was nothing over $5.
We did find the bathroom to be a little cold and the hot water inconsistent but these were only minor issues.
I would stay here again for the views alone (we even saw a whale!) however, it's a bonus that the hotel is so good too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was the best overnight location of our 2 week trip! We have stayed in San Francisco, Lake Tahoe, Yosemite, Grand Canyon, Barstow, Bakersfield and even Las Vegas but this location topped the lot. Beautiful room with a view over the Pacific with an absolutely fantastic sunset the night we were there. The sound of the sea less than 100m away made the whole night brilliant. Beds comfortable, bathroom, shower and all amenities excellent. On site restaurant great and reasonably priced. Intend to return to California and will definitely stay longer here. Nearby Hearst Castle a must to visit.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We Stayed at the BWP Cavalier on April 17th 2012. This hotel is quite large and the grounds extensive. We had a ocean front room that was steps away from the bluff. It was great to sit by our sliding glass door and look out at the sea. Our room had a king bed, mini bar and another fridge for our own stuff. In room coffee and wet bar sink were perfect. The corner fireplace was the kicker. Great to have a fire in the room while we had a drink and watch the (insane) kite surfer out in the rough surf. The bathroom and nice and we both thought the huge tub was too inviting. We walked the grounds at night when the staff light a series of fires in the outdoor fireplaces. We had dinner in the onsite restaurant which was ok nothing special but the food was good and we had no complaints. We did not use the pools / hot tubs but there were kids in the pool having fun as we walked by. One night was not enough and if I am back in this area again I would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BajanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nundah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

When you’re doing the costal route between LA and San Fran San Simeon makes a perfect stop. We really enjoyed staying here, the rooms are fantastic we had an ocean view room, it was lovely to sit there and watch the sun go down at the end of the day. Their bathroom amenities would have to some of the best we have had, and was a really big surprise from a Best Western, the bathroom was a little on the cold side, but the room was great, plenty of space and the best bed we had on this trip.

Their restaurant has a great breakfast, their dinner (for a vegetarian) was a little lacking however my partner was more than happy with the selection (not a vegetarian). I would love to come back and spend a few more days exploring this area.

Only thing the photo’s on the website make the hotel look like it out by itself, there are number of hotels very close to it, saying that you couldn’t hear anything from them, so it made no difference.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marktravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We usually stay on the terrace, and love being right on the bluff! The sound of the ocean, lulling you to sleep at night. Room service for breakfast in the morning. Having binoculars and a cozy robe to be on the balcony and view the ocean and maybe see the sea lions or a whale is worth the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cap93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing