We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean front Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ocean front Hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here as a birthday weekend. Rented one of the oceanfront rooms with the fireplace. The weather was perfect, the waves rock you to sleep at night, all the staff was pleasant. San Simeon is a jewel just south of Big Sur, and the Best Western is the only hotel right on the beach in town. The water is cold, but the surf is beautiful. Park the car and everything you need is right there. Good restraunt and reasonable prices. There are great walks you can take on the beach, ride bikes on Coast Hwy, visit Cambria and the winery's in the area. Check out the one in Harmony. We live in Southern California and this hotel is one of our favorite weekend getaways.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommygx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    813
    212
    80
    23
See reviews for
628
1,493
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron,Oh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I took a California vacation road trip in June, from San Diego, up the coast to Oregon, across to Susanville, and down to Yosemite We stayed in a different place every night for 2 weeks, and this hotel was our favorite. The staff was very knowledgeable and professional. The room was jaw dropping. Very spacious. It had an ocean view, a fireplace,the largest king bed we'd ever seen, mini bar and white fluffy robes. We felt like we were in New York City. The adjoining restaurant was very reasonably priced, great food and large portions. Although it was too cold to enjoy the ocean, it was still one of the best choices we made.This should be the model for all hotels everywhere.Being from Ohio, we'll probably never get there again, but if by chance we do, there is no doubt where we'll we'll stay. Be sure and stay here.

Room Tip: We asked for an ocean view room, and that's exactly what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I love this place, very peaceful, had a great ocean view. Clean, great beds. Office staff very helpful. I great place to sit and do nothing. Don't miss the sea lions down the road and Cambria too. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpgPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms were nicely appointed motel rooms, beds were comfortable, toiletries excellent and the maids did a fantastic job cleaning up after my 5yo when he got sick with gastro!

The position on the coast was lovely and we enjoyed walking along the cliff/beach. The restaurant was reasonably good, but not gourmet.

We stayed here because of its proximity to Hearst Castle and we were not disappointed. Cambria is a lovely town only a short drive away and we enjoyed visiting it for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppermint_Tea_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This property is wonderful!!! The only recommendation that I would give is that it is about time that they upgrade to flat screen televisions especially in the ocean front and ocean view rooms.

The restaurant is excellent although reservations are always advised for dinner. It gets very busy!!! An extra advantage is that they do not charge any special fees for room service and the food is just as good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The location was great, right on the beach. We were able to walk along the beach and in the evening, there are fire pits to enjoy a relaxing time. On the down side, this hotel did not have hotels, and when having to carry up bags for a family to our second floor room, that was a downer. However, the staff was helpful at assisting. The room was spacious but a bit outdated, a definite 80's theme. There is no a/c and no fans in the room. The staff did bring us a portable fan but the room was still quite warm. I'd recommend a first floor room at this establishment. Only one place to eat, and no complimentary breakfast with this stay. Nearest city is about a 10 minute drive, no local gas stations in this area. Have to drive to Cambria for gas.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof6Anaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is really a great place to stay and a great value. We went to see Hearst Castle which is only a 5 minute ride down the highway. The hotel is right on the ocean with a nice grass area in front. At night they light the fireplaces making for a lovely place to sit and relax. Our room was very nicely appointed with a wood burning fire place , with those cute little round wood cutouts supplied for you to light it easily. The toiletries supplied were great, even makeup remover and a foot wash cloth! The staff was more than friendly and helpful. Yes the rooms green carpet is a bit outdated but with ocean views like this for a great price - who cares! The onsite resteraunt is really good, we ate breakfast and dinner there and both tasted great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Well managed and a great deal. Love this place!

Room Tip: get an ocean view room with a patio, completely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyandyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing