We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Love This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You'll Love This Place”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Best Western Cavalier in San Simeon is a delightful property. Located on a bluff above the ocean, the beach is easily accessible. The room was spotless and large. The staff at the desk was welcoming and professional. There is a hot tub and heated pool and fitness room that are free for guests. We stayed one night in June. The nights were nippy, but the hotel has three large braziers along the lawn facing the beach. People can sit in chairs and chat and enjoy the view. It’s a friendly place. It’s only a couple miles from the Hearst Castle (not to be missed.) There’s an elephant seal rookery a couple of miles north on Route 1. Free and always open, again, worth a visit. There are actually elephant seals all along that area of the coast. You can pull over and walk over to the bluff and see them. I would highly recommend the Best Western Cavalier. The price was very reasonable and the staff was unusually helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familiaturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    825
    219
    81
    26
See reviews for
640
1,521
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

the independence of a motel with the comfort of a hotel.
huge room facing the ocean. we stayed in the first floor, facing the ocean, but right in front of the swimming pool, which took away some of the supreme privacy this hotel had to offer, especially being there during the week. the glass that surrounds the swimming pool seemed a bothering intervention to the amazing view of the ocean, but turned out to defend us a bit of the wind.
king bed, decent pillows and sheets, private cute fireplace inside the room, nice living area inside of room with table and armchairs, good closet, clean, big and comfortable bathroom with neutrogena products. mini-bar, hair dryer, nice closet, coffee maker in the room.
there is a small gym room, with new equipment, and ice-machines in each floor of the buildings. free internet, but wi-fi had a poor signal in our building.
hotel consists of 3 or 4 two-store buildings facing a beautiful grass yard right in front of the pacific, with a beach at one end. some surf and kitesurf in the area. at sunset - the sun dyes dramatically right in the ocean, in june - the light bonfires at the sandy boardwalk.
we enjoyed very much the cavalier big sur.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank t_southbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We were travelling along the west coast and chose this hotel for a stop over,. the Reception staff were fantastic, very welcoming and ultra friendly. we were celebrating our anniversary while on the trip, 10 minutes of being in our room a bottle of Champagne was delivered, as it was a stop over we ordered room service which came beautifully presented and great food. we had an amazing view of the ocean,the 3 outside fire pits were lit at sunset, all the guests would sit around the fires, very romantic! try and book room 210 it has a lovely log fire and duel aspect windows that has the best views, not much to do in the surrounding area so ideal to chill if on a busy schedule. can't recommend enough,The owners of this hotel should be very proud.

Room Tip: book room 210, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkiesx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

A cracking hotel. Location is excellent, rooms are wonderful and the staff fantastic. A lot of so-called five star hotels could learn from this hotel. The best bit is the fire pits by the ocean which are lit at sunset.

Room Tip: Go for the suites; plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The young man that checked us in on June 23rd was absolutely wonderful. Good customer service appears to be paramount at the Cavalier. We were not disappointed at all with our stay. The kids loved the heated pool with the ocean view. I loved the in- room coffee selection. It was my favorite coffee. Although I did not use the in-room bar, you couldn't beat the prices. We had a room on the second floor with an indirect view of the ocean, which was breath taking. Step out of your room and a short walk to the beach. The fire pits were lit at night to enjoy the warmth while listening to the sounds of the waves. I went back to work on Monday telling my co-worker's about the experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The property is truly amazing with a staff to match. We had a room facing the Pacific. The rooms are wonderful with a small wood burning fireplace and a patio. The rooms are lacking nothing. When we first arrived the electronic keys were malfuntioning, but worked with the manager and were back on track with little trouble. The restaurant on the property was exceptional. Breakfast was very good and fresh each morning with service to match. There are walking paths on the bluffs above the beach and trails down to the beach if you wish. In the evening there are three fireplaces on the bluffs, which are lit for guests to enjoy with other guests. The bed in our room was extremely comfortable and made for a excellent nights sleep. We were able to book a evening tour at Hearst Castle knowing we did not have far to drive to get back to the hotel. It is only about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. My wife and I highly recommend staying at this property.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayouself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tusayan, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We agree with previous good reviews and booked this hotel on the back of them. It's location is fantastic, and rooms were clean and of a good size. Staff were helpful, and log fire in the room was welcome because it was a chilly June stopover. Sunsets/Sunrise were amazing, and only 5 mins from Hearst Castle. Our only gripe would be the wifi signal was *dreadful*. For MacAir users, bring your ethernet adaptor!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemiandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing