We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Himley, South Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well what can I can..... not much. Once you have been to the beach all you can do here is sleep. The pool is pointless (like a puddle in a small room) and I am glad I didnt go in. My boyfriend went in for a quick dip, when he got out he looked like hed been punched in both eyes the chlorine is so strong.
Good points: By the sounds of it we may have been one of the lucky few that got a clean room. The beds were nice and comfy and I did have a great nights sleep.
If we hadnt prebooked this place I would have driven straight past.... nothing special

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    233
    241
    74
    68
See reviews for
194
341
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I don't expect much from a hotel besides a clean room and a good night's sleep. The room had BED BUGS! It seemed clean at first look, but as the night went on, I kept itching, and in the morning I saw huge welts on my arm, on my 21 month old child, and on the back of my husband's ear. Absolutely disgusting.

If that wasn't enough, the hotel checked in a very loud group of people right above us who basically kept us awake all night long by their partying and their passed out, drunken stupor of snoring.

Also, they have an indoor pool which my kids were excited about, but it had waaaaay to much chlorine in it and our eyes were stinging like crazy. Now that I'm back home, I can finally treat the GREEN hair that my daughter has, most likely from the ridiculous chlorine content in this pool. They also had broken chaise lounge chairs that almost caused injury when my children sat down on them. Here's an idea, get some new chairs!! That people can actually sit on. They looked like they were probably from the 1970's.

When I let the guy know in the morning, he didn't even acknowledge my complaint about the bed bugs or the pool furniture, and blamed me for my loud neighbors. I can't believe they made us pay for our stay after being eaten alive by bugs (I'm filing a report on http://www.bedbugregistr…) and by not being able to sleep a wink by our rude neighbors.

The room was awful and the customer service STINKS! STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! Now, off to warn the Expedia and Yelp customers.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were very disappointed by our stay here. Poor decoration, furniture and carpet in room. Television very limited. No food but close to other average eating places. Location was really the only thing going for it. Allowed us to get to Hearst Castle early. Did provide a hairdryer when requested.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Cheap & close to the beach. They don't do food but they gave us vouchers for the restaurant s few doors down. The rooms are average sized with a nice private balcony each.
The free pool and spa was handy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Lamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I feel as if I spent most of my waking moments in this motel fantasizing about the negative review I would write about my stay. The outdated decor and loud fridge were probably to be expected, but the real dealbreaker was the noise. We have a 1-year old who goes to bed around 8pm, and on the first night we heard loud drilling next door from about 9-10pm. It sounded like they were installing something on the other side of our wall. When my husband went outside to see what was going on he ran into two workers - he asked them when they would be done, one just gave him a death stare while the other one said "soon...hopefully."

The next day when we came back to the hotel for the baby to nap the drilling was happening again from 12-1pm.

The last night we were there we woke up to people partying above us around midnight. They were just laughing and talking loudly but we heard everything. Finally by 1am we tried to call the front desk when we discovered...no one answers phones "after hours." Luckily when we went upstairs to talk to the guests they were quiet afterwards, unfortunately our baby didn't go back to sleep until after 2am.

The worst part of all was that the hotel was not full. Why would they put people in a room right next to where they were drilling, and then right beneath other guests when the place obviously had a ton of open rooms? We obviously will not be back.

Room Tip: NOT next to a utility room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

As a budget stay before visiting Hearst Castle Silver Surf Motel works well. Rooms are clean, of average size, the standard is okay (TV reception could be better, though). There's no breakfast, but they never advertised offering one, so you exactly get what is offered. Instead, you get 10% off coupons for two neighboring restaurants. I did not try any of them, so I can neither tell how good they are nor if they honor the coupon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Grip42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The good:
The motel is right across the street from the beach
The motel grounds are pretty & peaceful
The rates are reasonable, especially during the off-season with a travel guide coupon

The bad:
The rooms are on the lower side of average
The beds are old and very uncomfortable (bring a pillow)

The ugly:
The owner tried to scam me! At 3pm, she wouldnt accept a $70 coupon - said she only had a $90 room available. And then at 11pm, she wouldnt accept a $60 coupon - said she ony had $70 rooms available. It was all so scripted & dishonest, really turned me off. We've been loyal guest at this motel for years, but from now on we will be staying at the Days Inn next door. Their rates are just as good, their rooms are MUCH nicer, and the owners seem friendly and honest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPLnCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,720 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
263 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Property: Silver Surf Motel
Address: 9390 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing