We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel for a night”
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed July 19, 2012

You shouldn't expect luxury but that doesn't really matter when you decide to sleep a night or two in a motel. Bed was comfortable enough and we rested well so that the next day we were fresh and ready to continue driving on the Highway 1. It wasn't too expensive as well.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank adam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 777 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Booked on line. Room was hot, stuffy, bed was HARD! Lots of noise from apartments behind the hotel. Had a 2 night stay could not sleep, left 1 night early. Asked for refund for second night, was told that was our problem to resolve. Lost over $100. Hotel would not issue the refund through Hotel.com NEVER again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed there one night for a stop on a roadtrip to visit Hearst castle and
For that purpose it's fine.

One thing is though Wrong on the description here on tripadvisor: there is no free breakfast. Only a 10% discount or a fixed lower price for a specific dish at a restaurant on the next block.

Informed receptionist anout the error who promised to go and see if he could get the information fixed on the external sites since nothing on the hotel website nor receipt states there is a free breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank switzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hearst Castle is just a mile or so down the road and thats well worth the visit if you've never been...its right out of a novel and stunning in its scale and beauty. Thought the Neptune and Roman swimming pools were the top highlights of the tour. Cattle roaming the fields alongside the odd ZEBRA (??) or African mountain goat. One of the best visitors centers I've been to and you have to try the grass-fed beef tri-tip sandwichs. Also 7 miles north is a beach called Piedras Blancas which is an Elephant seal colony and that's an awesome attraction at no cost. Their breeding season is Dec to Feb, otherwise they're lounging around on the sand. Was cool to see the younger males testing each other out in the shallows continuously splashing about in mock combat.

As for our motel...paper thin walls, small rooms, no fan or AC...(stayed in early July) and a shoddy looking dead bolt on the ranch slider. Doesnt take much to please me when it comes to accommodation. A decent bed, a clean room and the standard amenities are more than enough when you're just in for 1 or 2 nights.

Not impressed with this place overall. Couple next door's conversation was as clear as our TVs, the room was on the small side, (which usually I'm ok with) but without any AC or even a ceiling fan to circulate the air, the room was too stuffy and hot for a summer night in July.

They did have a microwave and fridge which was a plus. It's walking distance to the beach and restaurants and the site has an indoor pool and spa so it wasn't all bad but trying to get a decent nights sleep is a priority on the road. Cheaper than the neighboring lodges and hotels but next time I'd spend the extra money for the added comfort.

Room Tip: Spend more on your accommodation...it will pay off in this town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katubaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in motels along the coast in CA, and Silver Surf was the worst one. It was cheap though and you definitely get what you pay for. Very close to Hearst Castle, but nothing else worth while in the area. The rooms were very dated and the beds small and uncomfortable, even the pillows were lumpy. They had fold up metal chairs as furniture/decor, seriously? We ate in Cambria, and if we visit the area again will pay a bit more and stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good value for the price... beds are very comfortable, the rooms are set back off the highway, not "fancy" but you get good value for the rates. I didn't use the spa or pool but slept well. The downstairs rooms are not without sound if someone is above but that's a minor inconvenience, plenty of parking.

Room Tip: try to get upstairs set back off the freeway for most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

we select this motel after review the comment on trip advisor. To be frank, the motel is fine. It is standard motel with free parking, no breakfast. The price is justified. However the wifi is very poor in the room and no mobile signal. So we have to stay outside at later night to communicate with our friend thru wifi.
We drive from San Francisco and have a short stay at Carmel, which is a very nice town and highly rrecomment to stay if your schedule is not rush. We select over night at San Simeon is because it is about hte middle point from San Francisco to LA. And you can visit teh castle in the next day if you want.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
639 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 9390 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range: $48 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing