We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay motel...”
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in motels along the coast in CA, and Silver Surf was the worst one. It was cheap though and you definitely get what you pay for. Very close to Hearst Castle, but nothing else worth while in the area. The rooms were very dated and the beds small and uncomfortable, even the pillows were lumpy. They had fold up metal chairs as furniture/decor, seriously? We ate in Cambria, and if we visit the area again will pay a bit more and stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 756 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good value for the price... beds are very comfortable, the rooms are set back off the highway, not "fancy" but you get good value for the rates. I didn't use the spa or pool but slept well. The downstairs rooms are not without sound if someone is above but that's a minor inconvenience, plenty of parking.

Room Tip: try to get upstairs set back off the freeway for most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

we select this motel after review the comment on trip advisor. To be frank, the motel is fine. It is standard motel with free parking, no breakfast. The price is justified. However the wifi is very poor in the room and no mobile signal. So we have to stay outside at later night to communicate with our friend thru wifi.
We drive from San Francisco and have a short stay at Carmel, which is a very nice town and highly rrecomment to stay if your schedule is not rush. We select over night at San Simeon is because it is about hte middle point from San Francisco to LA. And you can visit teh castle in the next day if you want.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

For what it is, it's fine. The desk could be a bit friendlier but the rooms are clean enough and the beds comfortable. Hearst Castle it ain't but it's pretty decent value.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

When we first got there I thought it was such a nice cute room and super cheap price! Was well worth it.
Pros - Right by the 1 & the beach, very convenient
- cute room, nice sheets and pillows
- fridge, microwave, coffee brewer
- way quiet, I think i saw 1 other person staying
- room had ocean view
- had good TV channels and free wifi

Cons- bed killed my back, mattress was crappy spring bed and you can see one side was caved in.
- shower tiny, no bath
- this is what killed it.... went from above average to poor.... I stepped on a steak knife and found a pill on the floor. If they vacuumed prior to our stay I think these would of not been there :/ good thing I didn't have a child with me.

Like I said, went to above average to poor due to the shank and drugs in the room, but for 50$ its a possibility I would stay again due to high prices of surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel911xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Silver Surf is a AAA rated motel in San Simeon, CA, which appears to be under new management and has seen better days. When we arrived after 5:00 pm, we discovered that the bathroom trash had not been emptied. The debris included panti-liner strips, so we notified the office. Housekeeping called the next morning, and we said we would be on our way to Hearst Castle by 11:30. When we returned late that evening a quick look around confirmed that the coffee pot had not been emptied and that there was breakfast cereal (not ours--we had breakfast nearby) on the floor which apparently had been there since our check-in. Another trip to the office--this time I said I would clean up myself, and when I went to do so, I found a tooth stuck in the stained, upholstered chair that was in the corner where I had discovered the cereal. Another trip to the office with the items mentioned. At checkout the next morning, I asked if I might speak to the manager. Alas, he was on vacation and would not return for several days. There was nothing to be done. We had reserved ahead of time at the average rate of $75. A German couple had stopped in when I was in the office on night one, and received a quote of $59. When I finally was able to contact the manager two weeks later via KAYAK, his response was to offer a $15 refund. He apparently questioned the fact that we had stayed two nights. If we had not arrived after 5:00 the first night, and stayed out until after 6:00 the second, I would have asked myself the same question.

Room Tip: Triple A and the health department need to take a closer look. The desk staff is very sympathetic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Silver Surf Motel for one night after visiting Hearst Castle. I wanted someplace that was close to San Simeon without having to back track after visiting the Castle. The Silver Surf Motel met all requirements. It was clean, quiet and comfortable.

Although the room was small, it had everything that we needed for a 1 night stay. The bathroom was a nice size with a small shower. The mattress on the bed was very firm, but comfortable. There was also a microwave and small refrigerator in the room.

The Silver Surf Motel is a budget motel with no frills and extra amentities. It is a good alternative to more pricier hotels/motels in the area.

All rooms open out to a lawn with a few tables and chairs. There is also plenty of parking.

I was really impressed with how quiet it was eventhough our room was at the back of the hotel across the street from an apartment complex.

There is also a pool and spa although we did not use them.

Breakfast is not incuded, but there are several restaurants within walking distance to the motel.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors have easy access to parking. I would also book mid-week. We got the room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmaven_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
543 reviews
71.3 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,807 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 9390 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range: $60 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing