We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant, decent food, very rude host!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ragged Point Inn

Ragged Point Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, decent food, very rude host!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were driving the PCH and decided to stop here for dinner. We walked in not long after sunset and asked the host, Kyle, if we could sit closer to the water side of the EMPTY restaurant. He asked if we were "on the list". When we said no, he told us it was to be used for other guests. Huh?
We were led to a seat at the front of the restaurant overlooking the highway. I ordered the sirloin; my husband a bacon burger. Both pretty good, actually. At some point while we were eating we were given a check. Actually, it was unceremoniously tossed at our table. Not ours, and with someone else's credit card in it. We gave it back to Kyle who didn't even acknowledge the mistake or say thanks or even nod. My husband pointed this out to him and he actually sneered at us when he said "Whaddaya want me to say?"
What's the matter with this jerk?
This was all very odd since our waitress, as well as pretty much everyone else working here, was quite pleasant and accommodating. We even got our blueberry pie for free since our waitress was apparently feeling our pain about dear Kyle.
That section of the restaurant was still not full of their "preferred" guests as we were leaving. And as we were leaving Kyle sneered at us again as he VERY sarcastically told us to have a good evening.
My advice is that this restaurant, even though it's hooked up with an inn, gets a sign for the door that says "WELCOME...UNLESS YOU'RE A TOURIST"
Or better yet, get rid of Kyle!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goddess0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    115
    55
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This restaurant has great food and great service. But the best part is the view. The grounds are very lovely and nicely landscaped with the Pacific Ocean in the distance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CentauraHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Only place around to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ate here every night on our 3 night stay. The food was very very good, especially the tempura shrimp. Dinner menu has a variety for everyone. Since we had 3 meals there, we were able to try 6 different items. All were very good. They have a new menu since April 2012.

We had breakfast on the patio on the one morning it was not foggy. Very lovely setting next to a pond. The resident frog was out enjoying the sun. Apparently he does not come out very often.. Their menu for breakfast is not large, but the food was good. Prices are a little expensive, but there is nothing else around except for Cambria and things are not any cheaper there.

There is a coffee and pastry counter at the back of the restaurant. They had very good cinnamon rolls. All their pastries and desserts are made there. We did not try any desserts for dinner, but they all looked really good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brief stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Turns out the night we decided to wing it and see what was available down the coast The Flaming Lips were playing at Henry Miller Memorial Library. So there was only one room left in the whole of Big Sur and it was a little more than we needed (big enough for a whole family), so we kept driving and tried somewhere else. No rooms.

I rang ahead to Ragged Point Inn and they had a few rooms left cos they're further down the coast. I booked in over the phone just in case they sold out too. We went to Nepenthe for dinner and drove down to Ragged Point, arriving about 9.30pm, in time to catch them still in the office. The room was in the single-level building overlooking the cliff. It was a very good size (large), had a gas fireplace, good size TV, and nice bathroom. The whole place was spotlessly clean, especially the bathroom (which I'm fussy about) and there was nothing out of place. Amazing housekeeping.

The bed was comfortable and large with nice pillows. In the morning we caught the view which is lovely. Went for a wander around the grounds before we left. Would be a lovely wedding venue. We didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment on the food.

Only unfortunate thing is that the walls are very thin. We were woken up in the morning by the people next door having a chat. That's the reason for my value score cos it cost us NZ$200 for one night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, horrible food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you go, go for the view-because the restaurant is run by unkept kids in unkept clothes who apparently don't know how to sweep. The food is not good. Old, stringy pastrami, rainbow cork pasta w/ lots of cheese & over cooked veggies. The fish tacos were fishy w/ dated red cabbage & yellow cheese. Say what? Isn't this the coast? Maybe the rooms are nice-but take an ice chest!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zumbalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragged Point Inn also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ragged Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing