We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, better view”
Review of Sunset Grill

Sunset Grill
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“good food, better view”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was pretty good, not excellent, but completely edible. The location and view from the outside tables was what made the evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    42
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great food for dinner, service could have been better”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had the fettacini alfredo with mushrooms and it was terrific. It seemed like the waiter either had too much to do or was just not very attentive but the great food made it a good experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doglover408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Motel 6-attached food was good?!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Schlumped down to the restaurant after a long day of driving expecting a blah meal. To my surprise I found a frosty Sam Adams and NY Steak for dinner. And they rocked! Attached to a Motel 6?! Wow,, very pleasantly surprised. Courteous service, good food, what more could you want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The cod and shrimp in a whitewine sauce was so delicious, and the very best dinner i have had since we arrived at ca 3 weeks ago. My husband also enjoyed the pizza. Nice food and nice service at reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lthuelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONESDALE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The restaurant was attached to the hotel and after being on the road all day we did not want to drive to some place to eat. I had Garlic Chicken Fettucini with a nice sauce and my wife had Fettucini Alfredo. The food was nicely prepared and the service was very good.
The next morning we ate breakfast there. They had an excellent breakfast buffet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ecb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grill also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing