We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

Planning to visit a Hearst Castle--a great place to stay...
A newly refurbished hotel, with very clean rooms, nice continental breakfast.
If you are looking for something more than your regular Motel 6, I recommend you stay at The Morgan.
If I personally ever have to come back to stay around that area--I'd book the same place.

P.S. Just don't go eat at "California Big Sur Cafe" on the other side on HWY 1--what a horrible, horrible place!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_am_travel_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    372
    199
    82
    34
See reviews for
278
406
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
299 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed here after visiting the Hearst Castle which made the location good. Since it was off season the rate was very reasonable. The paint and furnishings looked fairly new and the room was clean. The room was plenty big, but needed a desk. It had free wireless and an OK breakfast. The room had a jetted tub, but due to a water shortage the power to the pump had been turned off.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Allegedly the best in "Hotel alley", we stayed in the annexe building, so a big room and very quiet. Clean, helpful staff, and seconds from the beach. Perfect overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

This was a little difficult to find as it isn't actually in the tiny hamlet of San Simeon so we drove past and had to double back - it's on the sea side of the highway where the other hotels and motels in the San Simeon area are located. Very close to Hearst Castle and in a very scenic area - you can see resting seals on a neighbouring beach. The room (in the secondary block of the hotel) was large and well-appointed although there was only a ceiling fan rather than aircon and it was pretty hot and stuffy without that going. The Morgan is owned by the same company as the Wine Valley Inn in Solvang and has been fairly recently renovated in a very similar style/colour scheme. Two niggles: 1) I dropped something on the floor and when I lifted the bed valance to find it it was pretty obvious that no one had vacuumed under the bed for a while...... 2) We accidentally left a box of fudge we bought as a gift in the fridge of our room when we checked out. We realised and returned within the hour to find it wasn't there. The guy on reception made enquiries with the cleaning staff who were on lunch and three of them were chomping through it, not having handed it in!! That said, he was mortified, the hotel reimbursed us the cost and we were able to replace the gift on our travels. Continental breakfast is included in the room rate - this was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grecofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed here on our drive along Scenic Hwy 1 late September 2009. The Morgan was VERY clean, quiet and gave us the best nights rest we had had for our entire 11 day trip. It was only a 5 min drive to Hearst Castle and the staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast was just enough to get us on our way. I would highly recommend the Morgan if you are planning on visiting Hearst Castle. One more thing the price was actually cheaper than what was advertised on-line. Overall the best deal for your money in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawjrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel was great, modern, tastefully decorated room (we had a free upgrade) comfy king sized bed, excellent continental breakfast included. Also had an indoor heated pool. No air con in rooms, but ceiling fan kept it cool enough. Very close drive to Hearst Castle. Good free cable TV and wireless internet, friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfs_in_the_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

My husband and I traveled with friends and we were all very pleased with our rooms. The front desk was friendly and helpful . We enjoyed breakfast... nice selection of teas and also juices and milk. Bagels, sweet pastries, oatmeal and hard boiled eggs were a good choice for us! Cold cereals were also available.
We ate across the street ( at the suggestion of one of the men a at the desk) and loved it! The restaurant was the Manta Rey...hightly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing