We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Morgan is a wonderful little hotel very close to The Castle. Typically, it is a stop-over for me from San Diego to Big Sur. It's just in the right location for that journey and not too far from Cambria to grab groceries before heading up the coast.

It isn't very updated, but I feel it has a certain charm and very comfortable accommodations. I've stayed there twice and gotten the ocean facing rooms in the main building both times. While you cannot see the ocean very well from the hotel, you can hear the waves crashing in the evening. The rooms were clean and well appointed, though perhaps a little worn and in need of a fresh coat of paint. Breakfast is simple but nice - hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, coffee, danishes, fruit juice.

There's one other nice (chain) hotel in San Simeon, but I prefer going with the Morgan.

Room Tip: Get the ocean side junior suite on the south end of the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem to have reduced the jets in their large showers to conserve water.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPi0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    375
    201
    82
    35
See reviews for
282
412
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our room was in the main building and perfect for our one-night stopover on Highway 1. This route is somewhat remote so the options are minimal. We booked rather far in advance and found a price less than $180 per night (with AAA discount). I feel this price is a little high for the room but realize that limited options inflate the price a bit.

Overall, our room was clean, the decor was nice and comfortable. The bathroom needed a bit of TLC/renovation but it was clean. Yes, there is no A/C but it was relatively cool the night we stayed so not a problem for us - we just opened the window. As for the view of the ocean, I cannot comment. There was much fog/mist that evening and morning so we couldn't see much of anything anyway.

The dining options are also minimal so we drove to Cambria (only about 5 minutes away) and ate dinner there. We ate in the hotel the next morning and it was adequate for our tastes (yogurt, cereal, toast, etc.).

It was perfectly fine for a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyGirl073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had high expectations considering the website.
It portraits it more beautiful than it is.
This hotel is NOT beachfront. What they call ocean view is actually a far view.
It's an old hotel, no elevator, no A/C.
Breakfast is included, but not that great. There is no staff organizing it, so you are on your own to get a table.
The room and bathroom are comfortable. Our room had sun light and a breeze.
The hotel was full so it was noisy.
Overall it was ok, even being less than what we expected.
Good customer service.

Room Tip: Room at the corner has more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cimu0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Cimu0209,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent visit to The Morgan. I am very sorry that you were disappointed that we are not a beachfront property. We strive to make sure we are clear in our descriptions of our views; we refer to our rooms with ocean views as “partial ocean views”. We are set back from the ocean, and we do not wish any of our guests to be disappointed upon arrival.
We are indeed a 2 story hotel with stairs and no elevator, however we are always happy to honor requests for first floor rooms and we are always available to assist with luggage!
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived after a long journey down from San Francisco, the whole of San Simeon was experiencing a power outage, however with the calm attitude of the staff you would never have even noticed. Brilliant.

The rooms were exceptional, small but nice pool and continental breakfast was fantastic.

Highlights were walking down to the beach, 200meters, to watch the sunset and the wine the hotel sold from the local wineries was fantastic and great value for money.

I would advise everyone to use this as a stopover point when traveling the coastal highway.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank belfastmrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

First of all I am a Hotel Snob, on holiday we usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels/resorts. My expectations are very high! Now with that said, I knew The Morgan would be not a high end hotel. Here is my experience

As we arrive at the hotel check in was fine, We were given keys to our room which was in a separate building. So back in the car with our luggage for a quick drive to other building. First thing I noticed that the security doors were propped open at both ends( already thinking I have to leave my valuables in the car, since the building isn't secure) and a big fan in the hallway making a ton of noise. We entered our lower level room, corner unit( building has two floors) and it appeared to be clean. As we relax and freshened up, I noticed a few things worth mentioning.

(1)No A/C ,it happened to be very warm the day we arrived.
(2) The walls were dirty and had paint chips missing from damage.
(3) The bathroom was a big deal, its been mildly renovated. New tile around shower, but the sink tub appear to be all original looks like from the 70's, or 80's. It was off-putting to me that a $250.00 a night room does not have a fully renovated bath.
(4) The bath towels are very old, and have a metallic smell to them. The towels were disgusting!
(5) The people above us, every step they made could be heard in our unit. We were up all night!
(6) The most difficult thing to deal with were the different types of bug all over the room, we saw bugs in the bathroom, running across the bed and on the carpet.

Something else of noting that could not be avoided by the hotel, is that the power went out for hours during our stay! It was just surprising to me that this hotel does not have a back up generator available for their guest.

The positives
(1) Beds/pillows are comfy
(2) close to Hearst Castle
(3) Free Wi-Fi

Room Tip: If you stay here choose an upper level room, to avoid all the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear JavaBlack,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive review of your recent visit to The Morgan.
I am going to assume that you arrived mid-late afternoon because our entry doors were ajar. As we do not have AC at The Morgan and it was as you mentioned a warm day, we keep these doors open during the daylight hours to circulate air and keep the building cool, the same with the large fans in the hallway. We close and lock the doors and put the fans away in the early evening so our guests can feel secure and not be disturbed by the noise of the hallway fans. I hope that this was the case during your visit.
We are planning a bathroom remodel later this year. We are all looking forward to bringing our bathroom a new more modern look and feel. I wish to apologize for the condition of your towels during your stay. We usually receive compliments on our sheets and towels.
I also wish to apologize for the 3 hour power outage during your stay. It began on Sunday 7/27 at 4:30 pm and all power was restored by 7:00 pm. Power outages are very rare this time of year, the outage effected as far north as Big Sur and as far south as Morro Bay. I am relieved that the outage occurred during daylight hours.
Thank you again for sharing your experiences while you were our guest!
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you are passing through San Simeon and need a place to stay this is a great choice. You don't get a view of the ocean but it's a quick walk down the street. Very close to the Hearst Castle. The staff are very friendly, the continental breakfast was great. The rooms are roomy and very clean.
Thanks for your great hospitality

Suzanne

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Morgan is a nice hotel amidst mostly 2 star accommodations in San Simeon. The room prices during the summer months can be rather high (over $200 / night). Shop early for better discounts. Also consider staying in Cambria for lower rates and greater selection.

The Morgan was nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable and allowed for a good nights rest. Their continental breakfast was on par with that of other hotels.

This is a great choice if you rather stay close to Hearst Castle and prefer better accommodations than traditional 2 or 3 star hotels / motels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,722 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing